Online audio classical, jazz, folk, world music, literary and historic spoken word recordings, and online video operas and films on music.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014
Hundreds of thousands of audio tracks and hundreds of music-related videos are available online on- and off-campus via your UST user account.
Audio content includes classical, world, folk, jazz, children’s, and modern/avant-garde American music; readings of literary and dramatic works, interviews, oral histories, speeches, environmental sounds, sound effects, and more.
Video content includes concerts/performances, interviews, and documentaries and educational films in music history, music theory, music appreciation, music education, ethnomusicology, and music business/industry.
Search by composer, performer/ensemble, album/film or track/segment title, genre, instrument, country, language, time period, and more.
Create playlists for listening assignments, class lectures, or of your own personal favorites.
Other features include liner notes, biographical entries and information, music term glossaries, analyses of works, K-12 teaching resources, and more.
Monitor new content via the new additions pages, or sign up for RSS feeds.
- Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library streaming audio database offers over a million tracks of classical, film, world, and folk music. Users can search for music by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument, label, duration, mood, or genre. Added features include composer biographies, musical terms glossaries, work analyses, and K-12 curriculum resources. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) streaming audio database is a scholarly resource that focuses on hard-to-find yet culturally and academically important recordings of American classical, modern, and avant-garde music and ensembles. DRAM contains over 4,000 albums from independent labels including New World, Composers Recordings Inc., Albany, Innova, and Cedille. Genres represented include folk music, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic, and more. For optimal playback, use Quicktime (6.5 or higher) with Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer (10 or higher).
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound streaming audio database has more than 40,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds from Smithsonian/Folkways and other record labels. Included are readings of literary and dramatic works, historic speeches, language instruction, natural sounds, environmental and mechanical sounds, sound effects, children's music, and traditional music from virtually everywhere in the world. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
- Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz streaming audio database offers tens of thousands of tracks of classic and contemporary jazz, blues, and R&B performed by international jazz artists. Users can select music by composer, artist, ensemble, instrument, label, or genre. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Opera in Video
Streaming video database that contains 290 performances of operas from the Baroque to the twentieth century and documentaries on specific operas, composers, performers, and companies.
- Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a multi disciplinary database that provides streaming videos (electronic videos) from Films Media Group. More than 5000 full-length videos are available and they cover the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Contact music liaison librarians:
Media Resources Librarian