Research and Course Guides: *Economics Research Guide: Getting Started

Welcome

Economists love graphs!

Country Economic Studies

OECD Economic Surveys
Comprehensive economic analyses of OECD member and non-member countries

Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Provides 45-65 page overviews of the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts for 100 countries.
Passport This link opens in a new window
To find a country profile, open Passport (accept terms of use), then type: Chile PEST analysis (use your selected country) in the search box, then select that country profile from the auto-complete results. Also see More Related Items in left nav. Use the Economies menu to search for country data.

Statesman's Yearbook
An annual look at the politics, culture, and economies of the world. Browse or search within each annual volume.
World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, each country's profile includes demographic, political, economic, and geographic data.
World Bank Countries & Regions
Includes country profiles, statistics, and general reports.
Library of Congress Country Studies
Each Country Study includes information on the economic, political, and social system of a particular country. Also discussed are the people, their beliefs and values, and their interpersonal relationships. Covers 101 countries and regions.

Economics Dictionaries

Use these sources for quick definitions as a refresher

Dictionary of Economics
covers fundamental and advanced concepts via definitions & diagrams.

Palgraves

Palgrave's Dictionary of Economics Online

Need help choosing research topics?
Dying to calculate the price elasticity of demand?
Can't remember what heteroscedasticity means?
It's all here...

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online This link opens in a new window
Palgraves is the premier subject encyclopedia for the field. You will find it useful for getting definitive explanations of economic concepts, browsing for research paper topic selection, and locating additional sources for further reading from the article bibliographies. Covers all aspects of the field, including micro and macroeconomics, economic history, econometrics, international, urban, financial, monetary, public, and theoretical economics.

Economics Encyclopedias

Background Information in Economics: Encyclopedias

Use these specialized topical sources to review concepts, in the early stages of research for topic selection, to find additional sources on a topic, etc.

The Blackwell Companion to the Economics of Housing: The Housing Wealth of Nations
Explores issues including volatility of home prices and the implications of such ‘booms and busts’ for the wider economy; the puzzling link between housing wealth and consumption; innovations in mortgage markets including sub-prime and the crisis it precipitated; the changing face of housing risk; and the challenge of mitigation.
Companion to Economic Forecasting (Wiley)
An accessible and comprehensive account of recent developments in economic forecasting, with many of the chapters aimed at practitioners and non-specialists.
Companion to the History of Economic Thought (Wiley)
Offers a comprehensive and sophisticated exploration of the history of economic thought.
Companion to Theoretical Econometrics (Wiley)
A comprehensive reference to the basics of econometrics. It focuses on the foundations of the field and at the same time integrates popular topics often encountered by practitioners; provides up-to-date research in areas not usually covered by standard econometric texts.
Companion to Urban Economics (Wiley)
An overview of this field, addressing urbanization, land use, housing & real estate, transportation, urban public economics, labor markets, and quality of life.
The Elgar Companion to Health Economics, Second Edition
Chapters on a wide variety of health care economic and market issues.
Encyclopedia of World Poverty
provides extensive insight into the contemporary debate on poverty. Contains over 800 original articles written by more than 125 authors.
A Financial History of Modern U.S. Corporate Scandals from Enron to Reform
Includes an examination of the collapse of the Enron Corporation and other financial scandals that arose in the wake of the market downturn of 2000, examines the SEC's full disclosure system in corporate governance and the role of accountants in that system, chronicles numerous scandals, and covers the Sarbanes-Oxley Act.
A Financial History of the United States (2002; print)
Vol. I: From Christopher Columbus to the Robber Barons (1492-1900)
Vol. II: From J.P. Morgan to the Institutional Investor (1900-1970)
Vol. III: From the Age of Derivatives into the New Millennium (1970-2001)
A Financial History of the United States: From Enron-Era Scandals to the Subprime Crisis (2004-2006); From the Subprime Crisis to the Great Recession (2006-2009)
An e-book published in 2011 providing a comprehensive treatment of U.S. financial system history during these periods.
more...less...
Table of Contents for the 2nd Volume:
FROM THE SUBPRIME CRISIS TO THE GREAT RECESSION (2006-2009)

Part III. The Growth of the Mortgage Market - 375
9. Securitization - 377
Government Sponsored Enterprises
Mortgage Market Growth
Subprime Lending

10. Prelude To a Crisis - 412
Panics and Bubbles
Run Up to the Real Estate Bubble
The First Cracks Appear
The New Year - 2007

Part IV. The Subprime Crisis - 471
11. The Crisis Begins - 473
A Crumbling Landscape

12. The Great Panic Begins - 524
The Financial Hurricane
More Failures
The Bailout

13. The Crisis Continues - 572
The Contagion Spreads
Dealing with Chaos
The Automakers Fail
The Madoff Fraud and Other Problems
Closing Out the Year

Part V. The Crisis Abates - 623
14. The Rise and Fall of the Subprime Crisis - 625
The New President
Executive Compensation
The Bottom is Reached
Sunrise in America
The Way to Recovery

15. Regulation, Reform, and the Subprime Crisis - 696
Government Housing Policy
Government Economic Policies
SEC Capital Requirements
Other Regulatory Failures
Regulatory Reform
Regulation Abroad
Corporate Governance Reform

Conclusion - 767
Notes - 769
Selected Bibliography - 777
Cumulative Name Index
Cumulative Subject Index
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
This title presents vast era overviews, event and movement profiles, biographies, business and industry profiles, geographic profiles, and more.
Guide to Economic Indicators
Provides access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy, plus explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators.
Handbook of Applied Econometrics, Vol. I, Macro (Wiley)
A survey of the latest (1999) and most important new developments in applied econometrics, focusing on the methodological problems of undertaking empirical work in macro-economics.
Handbook of Applied Econometrics, Vol. II, Micro (Wiley)
Focuses on specific microeconomics applications, rather than conventional econometric theory. Covers issues involved in a variety of applied micro problems, including measuring productivity and efficiency, consumer demand, models of dynamic optimization, analysis of business surveys, etc.
Handbook of Economics & Ethics
Single-user e-book. Substantive articles on concepts and philosophers at the crossroads of economics and ethics.
Handbook of Financial Intermediation and Banking
Treatments of the major financial markets, competition, and regulation.
Handbook of International Trade (Wiley)
This volume explores theories, policies, & issues in the field of International Trade. The chapters focus on four important areas: factor proportions theory, trade policy, investment, and new trade theory. Covers such topics as the Heckscher-Ohlin Trade Model and the Stolper-Samuelson Price Link, wages, antidumping, etc.
Handbook of International Trade: Economic and Legal Analyses of Trade Policy and Institutions (Wiley)
This 2nd volume focuses on the economic and legal analysis of international laws and institutions as they impact trade. Addresses central issues including labor, environmental rights, preferential trade agreements, antitrust policy, patent rights, antidumping, trade liberalization, and foreign direct investment.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Search a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Economics & Finance
50+ encyclopedias in all areas of economic specialty.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Economics and Finance
Peer-reviewed articles summarizing the major research strains in both foundational and more recent developing topics.
Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Explains the key elements of the world economy with entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development.
Routledge Handbook of Major Events in Economic History
The Handbook of Major Events in Economic History aims to introduce readers to the important macroeconomic events of the past two hundred years and how today's situation fits in this historical timeline. It was written to present the professional consensus on the economics driving these historical events.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management: Managerial Economics
a treatment of economic concepts from a business management perspective, part of a renowned multi-volume Management encyclopedia
The Wiley‐Blackwell Companion to Economic Geography
Presents a comprehensive and accessible overview of major themes in the field, including the geographies of production, resources, societal interaction, and circulation of products, services, and information.

Your Librarian

Jim Kelly

He/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 115

651-962-5012

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Analytics, Computer & Information Sciences, Data & Statistics, Economics, Engineering, Finance, Operations & Supply Chain Mgmt

Other Econ Research Guides

*Datasets & Statistics Guide
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Mar 12, 2024 907 views this year
*Economics Research Guide
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Apr 16, 2024 284 views this year
Business & Economics Encyclopedias
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Jan 16, 2024 11 views this year
Country Economic Reports
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Nov 8, 2023 98 views this year
Country Information
by Marianne Hageman Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 33 views this year
Econ 251 Intro to Macroeconomics Sources
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Nov 8, 2023 12 views this year
Econ 252 Microeconomics Resources
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 24 views this year
Econ 332: Industrial Organization
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Mar 13, 2024 759 views this year
Econ 335: Money, Banking, and Financial Markets
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 35 views this year
Financial Crisis Research
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 16 views this year
GBEC 700: Economics of Strategy
by Andrea Koeppe Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 15 views this year
Historical Business Sources
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Sep 13, 2023 5 views this year
Industry Information
by Marianne Hageman Last Updated Mar 25, 2024 233 views this year