Research and Course Guides: *Economics Research Guide: Finding News Articles

Welcome

Economists love graphs!

Common Business Newspaper & Journal links

Business Journals (including Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal) This link opens in a new window
Bizjournals contains full text articles from the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal which provides in depth news about Minnesota companies, plus business journals from other cities. It also contains the annual Book of Lists. Sometimes full-text requires a username and password.

Bloomberg Business Week
1996-present in the Ebsco Business Source Premier database.
more...less...
Use the link provided to search within the publication or browse by date on the right side of the page. Both the O’Shaughnessy-Frey and Keffer Libraries also have the weekly print editions.
Economist
1997 to present; links to a university-wide website subscription.
more...less...
This should give you access to the content without paywalls (ignore the popup prompts to subscribe or login). Both the O’Shaughnessy-Frey and Keffer Libraries also have the weekly print editions.
Harvard Business Review
1922-present in the Megafile database.
more...less...
Use the link provided to search within the publication or browse by date on the right side of the page. Both the O’Shaughnessy-Frey and Keffer Libraries also have the monthly print editions.
Harvard Business Review Digital Articles
2007-present, text of HBR web-only articles available in the Megafile database.
more...less...
Use the link provided to search within the web articles provided or browse by date on the right side of the page.
Wall Street Journal
1984-present; Eastern Edition is the edition of record, via the Proquest US Newsstream database.
more...less...
Use the box to search within the title or scroll down to browse editions by date. The browse function organizes the content in page number order. Both the O’Shaughnessy-Frey and Keffer Libraries also have the daily print editions.
Wall Street Journal (Factiva version)
1979-present, a version of the newspaper in the Factiva database.

Introduction

This guide will help identify good sources for newspaper and news magazine articles in Economics. It was designed for short paper assignments where students must read, analyze, and discuss recent articles on micro or macro economic topics.

Key sources

Economist This link opens in a new window
The Economist is an important and respected English-language newsweekly magazine. This link gives access to a university-wide website subscription that should give you access to the content without paywalls. Includes current and prior coverage back to 1997; see the separate Economist Historical Archive for coverage back to 1843.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream searches newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites with current content, extending back into the 1980s. Full text of The New York Times, Star Tribune, Pioneer Press, and Wall Street Journal, among countless others.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, along with broadcast transcripts and college and university news. It also includes the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a great source for finding up-to-the-minute news articles from publications around the world including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Financial Times. It also contains many smaller market news sources, trade magazines, and journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
If you use Factiva's Share>Within My Account feature to find links for emailing or to use in Canvas, that URL needs to be adjusted with a special code to connect it with our subscription. Copy that URL and paste it into our ProxyMe! widget to create the adjusted URL.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of newspaper, magazine, trade, and academic journal articles--for this assignment you'll want to focus on the magazine content and limit your search results to that. Includes BusinessWeek, The Economist, U.S. News & World Report, among others. (also part of another aggregated database referred to as 'Megafile').

LibrarySearch (All-in-one search tool)
LibrarySearch searches across our newspaper, magazine, journal, book, and video collections. To find magazine or newspaper articles, do a topical/keyword search, then use the filters on the left side of the search results to limit to newspapers or magazines.
Journal Title Search
Search our journal listings (including newspapers & magazines) to find a particular title, and follow the links to a searchable & browseable version of that title.

Proquest US Newsstream Search examples

Let's say you want to find articles in the Wall Street Journal relating to the Obama administration's proposal for economic stimulus, and especially the "Cash for Clunkers" program. You might try the following search:

Your Librarian

Jim Kelly

He/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 115

651-962-5012

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Analytics, Computer & Information Sciences, Data & Statistics, Economics, Engineering, Finance, Operations & Supply Chain Mgmt

About OSF

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Library Hours