+ Find Primary Sources for Historical Research: Newspaper Articles

Complete searchable content of The New York Times from 1851 to 2020 including articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.

Complete searchable content of Washington Post from 1877 to 2008 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.

This database provides you with access to the complete content the African-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.

This database provides you with access to the complete content of the African-American newspaper, the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.

This database of Civil War materials provides you access to nearly 2,000 pamphlets and all articles from eight newspaper titles (3 from the North, 3 from the South and 2 from border states) dating from 1840 to 1865.

In this database, you will find full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.

Complete content of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821 - 2003) and The Observer (1791- 2003) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.

Complete searchable content of The Times, the world’s oldest continuously published newspaper, from 1785 to 2014 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.

Complete searchable content of The Sunday Times from 1822 to 2021 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.

This database provides you access to the complete content of the Irish Times newspaper (1859-2012) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.

In this database you will find full-text content and images of 70 national, regional and local 19th century British newspapers including both liberal and conservative perspectives on the social and political developments of the times in which they were published.

This database access to largest collection English news media from the 17th and 18th centuries. It includes more than 1,200 titles, including pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers.

The Financial Times Historical Archive offers the complete run of the London edition of the paper, from 1888-2021.