Research and Course Guides: + Find Primary Sources for Historical Research: Magazine and Periodical Articles

Find Period Magazines, Journals and Periodicals

The digital collections and indexes listed below can help you locate period magazine and journal articles published in the United States and Great Britain from the 18th through the 20th centuries.

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
With this database you have access to 1,500 magazines, newspapers and popular journal titles published in the United States dating 1741 through the 1930s.
British Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
With this database you have access to magazines, popular journals and other periodicals published in Great Britain dating from the from the late 1600s to World War II.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
With this database you have access to several popular women’s magazines published in the United States and Canada dating from the from the late 1800s through the 20th century.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Use the Readers' Guide Retrospective index to locate articles published in popular press magazines and journals dating from 1890 to 1982.
C19: Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is an index to primary source books, newspapers , government documents, periodicals, and archival collections relating to the 19th century.
American Antiquarian Society Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database is a digital collection of American magazines and journals dating from 1684 – 1912.