Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Music & Media Collections house more than 100 thousand titles in streaming audio, streaming video, music CDs, DVD, LPs, and VHS. It contains resources in all subject areas. It is located in room 104A in the OSF Library. Go to this link to find us: https://www.stthomas.edu/libraries/films/. The music scores, music books and music journals are located within the OSF Library stacks. For assistance see contact information below:
Cindy Badilla-Melendez, Head of the Music & Media Collections
Music & Media Circulation: 651-962-5447
Online Video Sources
60 MINUTES: 1997–2014 This link opens in a new window
The 60 MINUTES: 1997–2014 collection from Alexander Street grants access to the CBS News archives from this period, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (formerly VAST) is a collection of streaming videos covering the areas of art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, and women's studies.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Want to watch therapists at work? Like to watch Irvin Yalom supervising and consulting with new therapists? Wondering how to interact with people from different backgrounds than you? How are psychologists thinking about autism? Counseling and Therapy in Video has over 350 videos you can stream that demonstrate various therapies, lecture on different psychological disorders, and interview expert psychologists. All videos include transcripts. Make clips from the videos to save and share.
Digitalia Films This link opens in a new window
Digitalia Film Library (streaming video database) is a multilingual, multi-national collection of films and documentaries from Spain, France, other European countries, North America (Classic) and Latin America (especially Mexico, Cuba, Argentina and Brazil). Among the subjects included in the documentaries are archeology, history, nature, arts, and more. Note: To activate the English subtitles please click under the CC icons.
Docuseek Complete Collection (3rd edition) This link opens in a new window
Docuseek Complete Collection (3rd Edition) provides access to more than 2000 videos from different distributors, including Bullfrog, Women Make Movies, Icarus Films, Good Docs, Film Movement and more. It contains documentaries in a wide range of subjects including, Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Immigration, International Studies, Race and Racism, Ethnic Studies, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.
Film Platform This link opens in a new window
FILM PLATFORM serves as a bridge between academia and documentary film, bringing students and professors the most relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit. The collection is curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase critically-acclaimed documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, and the catalogue is continually growing.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos (electronic videos) from Films Media Group. It provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. Now it covers foreign films under the World Cinema Collection.
Films on Demand: Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
NOTE: This collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screening (not for public events). Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
Hoopla This link opens in a new window
Hoopla provides streaming video (movies and TV shows). Popular titles and classics, fiction and nonfiction are available. For information about devices and more visit Hoopla help
You must use your UST email and password to authenticate into Hoopla (if your password is longer than 20 characters, you will need to change your UST password to fewer than 20 characters). You MUST use your UST email to create a separate Hoopla account. You can check out up to 7 titles per month.
This collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screenings (not for public events).
Kanopy Films This link opens in a new window Kanopy changes
Due to high cost, access to Kanopy will be limited to faculty use and student research only. If you find a video in LibrarySearch that is from Kanopy and you need it for class, click the link and follow the instructions. In the future, if we are able to renegotiate a different price model we may be able to offer full access again.
We have more than 14 streaming videos databases that also have excellent content. Explore this link.
Faculty: if you have used titles from Kanopy to show in class and cannot find them, please contact the Music & Media Collections, email@example.com
or 651-962-5447 for help.
LInkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning provides training videos on business, software, technology, and creative skills. ITS provides access for all member of the UST community. Was previously Lynda.com.
Lumiere This link opens in a new window
Lumiere is a database sponsored by the University of California, Berkeley. It contains more than 20,000 clips drawn from 5,616 films in 62 languages. There faculty can use clips that have already been created or create their own. Also, entire films are available. The clips/films can be requested only from films St. Thomas and Berkeley both currently own. Detailed instructions on how to use Lumiere can be found on this LibGuide.
To access Lumiere, click in the link, select “Apply for an Account.” Under “User institution” be sure to select University of St. Thomas (MN) and include your department and role. For more information, contact Cindy Badilla-Meléndez
, Head of the Music & Media Collections.
This Collection is limited to faculty only for registered courses. The Collection cannot be used for campus screening (not for public events). In order to approve your account, you must agree to post the URLs ONLY in Canvas, where access is limited to students enrolled in your class; do NOT send links via email to your students.
Media Education Foundation Films This link opens in a new window
A database that contains documentaries and educational films on social, political, cultural issues, education, and American history.
Medici.TV This link opens in a new window
A streaming music video database covering over 1,500 films in high definition with the best of classical music from Baroque to Contemporary music, including: concerts, operas, ballets, archival documents, portraits of artists and composers, master classes, conductors in rehearsals. Over 100 live broadcast every year from leading concert halls and classical music festivals.
Projectr EDU This link opens in a new window
Projectr EDU is a curated collection of streaming films featuring filmmakers from underrepresented voices from around the world. It includes independent, international, and documentary films from distributors such as Grasshopper Film, MTV Documentary Films, and Canyon Cinema. Browse all the subject areas.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Psychotherapy.net features diverse collections of high quality training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, addiction, and social work. The majority of the videos show therapists, social workers and other mental health professionals conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre and post discussions. Includes most major theoretical orientations, including cognitive-behavioral, psychoanalytic/psychodynamic, family systems, existential-humanistic, motivational interviewing, and many others. Most video titles include downloadable Instructor’s Manual.
Swank This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus allows the UST community to stream major motion pictures. You can watch any film from the interface or you can link the movie and add it to Canvas and assign it to students as course reserves.
Swank works best with Chrome or Firefox version 47 and up.
NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screenings (not for public events).
Under-Told Stories This link opens in a new window
Under-Told Stories is a journalism project focused on the consequences of poverty and the work of change agents addressing them. Content is produced for highly respected news organizations and, in collaboration with educators, engages students on pressing issues of our time. This project is a partnership between PBS NewsHour and University of St. Thomas.
World Cinema This link opens in a new window
The World Cinema Collection includes more than 350 movies from directors across the globe, it includes the silent era, American and European films from the mid-20th century, and award-winning contemporary films featured by Global Lens. The collection is subdivided by regions among then: German Cinema, French Cinema, Italian Cinema, Latin American Cinema, Chinese-language Cinema, Turkish and Middle Eastern Cinema, and more.