Research and Course Guides: Newspapers and News: Historical Newspapers

United States Newspapers

New York Times (historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of The New York Times from 1851 to 2020 including articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Washington Post (historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of Washington Post from 1877 to 2008 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Star Tribune (historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of the Star Tribune (including all title variations) from 1867 to 2001 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Chicago Defender (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database provides you with access to the complete content the African-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
Pittsburgh Courier (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database provides you with access to the complete content of the African-American newspaper, the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
This database of Civil War materials provides you access to nearly 2,000 pamphlets and all articles from eight newspaper titles (3 from the North, 3 from the South and 2 from border states) dating from 1840 to 1865.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
In this database, you will find full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
A digital collection of historical newspapers from across Minnesota. (Free resource)
Chronicling America
A collection of digitized newspapers from across the United States. This collection is sponsored by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities. (Free Resource)

Search Historical American newspapers

Enter your search terms:

This widget will simultaneously search the historical Minneapolis StarTribune, Washington Post, and New York Times, plus the American Periodical Series and Civil War Era databases. Hit Revise Search>Choose Databases on a results page to limit to a single one of these sources.

European Newspapers

Guardian and The Observer (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete content of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821 - 2003) and The Observer (1791- 2003) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
The Times (London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of The Times, the world’s oldest continuously published newspaper, from 1785 to 2014 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Sunday Times (London) Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of The Sunday Times from 1822 to 2021 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Irish Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database provides you access to the complete content of the Irish Times newspaper (1859-2012) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
In this database you will find full-text content and images of 70 national, regional and local 19th century British newspapers including both liberal and conservative perspectives on the social and political developments of the times in which they were published.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
This database access to largest collection English news media from the 17th and 18th centuries. It includes more than 1,200 titles, including pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers.
Financial Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times Historical Archive offers the complete run of the London edition of the paper, from 1888-2021.

Additional Resources

Chronicling America - Minnesota Newspapers
Digital versions of the Minneapolis Journal (1901 - 1906), the St. Paul Daily Globe (1878 - 1905), and the Western Appeal/ The Appeal (1885 - 1922) are among the newspaper titles available on this site.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
This site includes links to digitized newspapers from around the world
U.S. News Archives on the Web
Links to United States newspaper archives available on the Web.

Newspapers and News: Historical Newspapers

Finding Older News Stories Online

United States Newspapers

Search Historical American newspapers

European Newspapers

Additional Resources