Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Essential News Sources
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Access World News
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, along with broadcast transcripts and college and university news. It also includes the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
Factiva is a great source for finding up-to-the-minute news articles from publications around the world including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Financial Times. It also contains many smaller market news sources, trade magazines, and journals. Use the Companies and Markets option to access company profiles and industry data. Limited to 6 simultaneous users. Does not work best in Firefox.
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .
News Media Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Journalism
Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet. Provides U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.
International Encyclopedia of Communication Online
A definitive reference source in an interdisciplinary and dynamic field, this authoritative work is jointly published with the International Communication Association (ICA). Coverage includes theories, media and communication, research methods, concepts, and much more. The encyclopedia features sophisticated cross-referencing as well as a lexicon by subject area.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete is an essential research tool in areas related to communications and mass media. It is also useful for literacy or ESL research in the field of education.
Search for Newspapers & Magazines
Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).