Below are some useful search terms to help you in your research process
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
A one-stop source for information on a variety of social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, as well as full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies explores more than 800 timely, in-depth, and objective articles on topics such as politics, government, business, education, and popular culture. It is updated weekly and provides links to a 13-year backfile. Also included are links to news coverage, pros and cons statements, timelines, statistics, etc.
The UST libraries subscribe to the digital web-based versions of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, and The Washington Post. This format allows patrons to browse headlines and read complete articles on their phones or laptops. It also includes access to additional content from these newspapers’ websites, including videos, podcasts, puzzles, and games.
Accessing these news sources is free, but some may require you to create separate accounts, which are also free.
More instructions are available here, or ask a librarian.
Access World News
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text and updated quarterly from 1990 to the present.
ProQuest US Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
NYT: Teaching About the Israel-Hamas War - Updated 1/25/24
A collection of resources and lesson plans to help students learn about Hamas’s recent attack on Israel, the dire situation in Gaza, the conflict’s roots, media literacy and more.
Reuters: Israel and Hamas at War and Maps of the conflict in Israel and Gaza
From Reuters, one of the largest news agencies in the world, an aggregated collection of articles, videos and maps that are updated frequently
BBC News: Israel-Gaza War
From the British Broadcasting Corporation, an aggregated collection of articles and videos that are updated frequently.
UN News: Israel-Palestine
News from the United Nations.
The Jerusalem Post: Middle East
Israel's most-read English news website and best-selling English newspaper bringing breaking news, world news & Middle East news.
Al Jazeera: Israel-Palestine Conflict
Al Jazeera is a Qatari state-owned Arabic- and English-language international news television network.
