Research and Course Guides: GEOL 220: Oceanography: Finding the Research

Article Databases

Geology Databases

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Search tool for scholarly research about the geosciences. Includes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government publications, theses, reports, and maps.
The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1666 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from scholarly journals and books in geology and earth sciences.

Related and Interdisciplinary Databases

Sometimes your topic may require finding articles in related fields. These are some good databases to start with.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and general interest sources across many subject areas.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and trade publications on science, engineering & technology.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne provides full-text access to both current and archival "bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation."
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a database focused entirely on environmental topics, across many different disciplines. It is an ideal place to begin any research that is concerned with renewable energy or materials, or with sustainability.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
Publications on materials science and engineering topics including metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's openly searchable and highly comprehensive database of biomedical literature, providing citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier published journals and books online platform
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of chemistry literature including articles, book chapters, dissertations, and patents. Find substance and reaction information as well as suppliers and chemical regulatory data.
SciFinder-n user guide
First-time users: You must first register an individual account by creating your own unique SciFinder username and password (when registering, use your UST email address).
If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Scopus user guide

Interlibrary Loan

This Photo by Unknown Author is licensed under CC BY

Request books, articles, and other items not available at UST. Visit the InterLibrary Loan page for more info.

GEOL 220: Oceanography: Finding the Research

LibrarySearch

Article Databases

Geology Databases

Related and Interdisciplinary Databases

Interlibrary Loan