Research and Course Guides: Catholic Studies: Getting Started

Finding Background Information - Print Resources

Catholic Women Writers: a Bio-Bibliographic Sourcebook
Call Number: OSF-Ref PN417 C38 2001

The following background resources can be found in the reference collection on the first floor of the O'Shaughnessy Frey Library (OSF-Ref) :

Encyclopedia of Catholic Literature
Call Number: OSF-REF PN485 E53 2004
The encyclopedia of American Catholic history
Call Number: OSF-Ref BX1406.2 .E53 1997
Dictionary of Popes and the Papacy
Call Number: OSF-Ref BX955.3 L4913 2001

Catholic Studies Resources

This guide introduces you to the Catholic Studies resources available in the University of St. Thomas Libraries. The background materials listed on this page will help you get started with your research. Click on the tabs above view other resources which will help you find books, journal articles and other materials.

Finding Background Information - Electronic Resources

Use these specialized topical sources to browse for paper topics and for information on specific events, places and themes:

New Catholic Encyclopedia - 2nd ed. (online)
A standard work on the history of Catholicism and its relation to the world. It includes articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
Historical Dictionary of Catholicism

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Based on the 1998 authoritative print edition, this encyclopedia features over 2,000 signed articles across the breadth of the discipline by international experts. Each year new or revised entries are added. The 10 volume print edition is available in Reference at both Ireland and OSF Libraries. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
A comprehensive encyclopedia of the religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century. It includes short articles church polity and theology as well as politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.