Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This online guide provides information and links to resources for church music avaiilable at UST Libraries. Use the tabs to help find books, academic articles, videos, websites as well as information on how to cite sources. Contact the Music Liaison Librarian if you have questions or need research assistance.
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Encyclopedias & Dictonaries
Oxford Music Online
Includes 4 music reference resources: "Grove Music"--full texts of New Grove Music, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz; "Oxford Companion to Music" and "Oxford Dictionary of Music"--concise articles on musicians, individual works, instruments, notation, forms, & genres; and "Encyclopedia of Popular Music"--covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Over 1,000 articles covering the music of all the world’s peoples, with over 200 audio tracks. Includes overviews of geographic regions, their musical heritages, and descriptions of genres, practices, and performances.
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.