Research and Course Guides: PSYC 422 History of Psychology in Context (Prof Johnson): Journal Articles

Margaret Washburn

Margaret Washburn, first woman to receive a Ph.D in psychology (1894)

Classics in the History of Psychology

Classics in the History of Psychology
This web site provides access to classic books and research articles in the history of Psychology.

Find Journal Articles

Use the following resources to find journal articles on your topic:

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.

American Psychologist
Invited articles. Often reflect the views of the field of psychology at that time.
Psychological Bulletin
History of Psychology
Published by the Society for the History of Psychology. this journal focuses on historical scholarship across the full range of psychological science and praxis including the discipline and profession of psychology, as well as the use of psychological insights and expertise by the public.
Journal of the History of Behavioral Science
A quarterly, peer-reviewed, international journal devoted to the scientific, technical, institutional, and cultural history of the social and behavioral sciences. Articles from issues from 1989 to one year ago are available here. Some articles from the current year are available from publisher's website.

PsychiatryOnline (Including the DSM) This link opens in a new window
The entire DSM is online for our students, faculty, and staff. Including all editions, supplements, and revisions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, from the DSM to the DSM-5-TR. Includes comparisons to the ICD. Cool textbooks including the Casebook and the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis Also includes Practice Guidelines, 6 journals, and fun assessment tools for self-study.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
America History and Life is comprehensive index of journals articles, book reviews, and dissertations related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles and bibliographic citations to books and dissertations on the history of the world (except for) the U.S. and Canada from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index, with over 470 titles in full text out of over 2,250 titles indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, review, and essays: international in scope. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Political scientists, journalists & economics researchers are going to find original information on health care, criminal justice, political and social trends, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each report includes an overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of education topics from early childhood to higher ed as well as educational specialties like adult education, multilingual education, and more. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Education Full Text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple disciplines and source types from one convenient place. Connect to Google Scholar through the library’s page to get free full text of articles brought to you by UST.

Reviews of Books

PsycCritiques
Book reviews (and some movie reviews) relevant to psychology. Look to see how the psychology community responded to your psychologist.

Journal of Social Issues

This journal is available through SocINDEX with Full Text back to 1945. This link will take you to the journal in that database. You can then click on a year, volume, and issue to get the table of contents for each issue.

This link may not work for all of you. If it does not, you can get to the same location by clicking on the SocINDEX with Full Text Link from our Journal A-Z page.