Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
James McKeen Cattell
James McKeen Catell, a founding member of the APA
MNCAT is the catalog for the resources available at the University of Minnesota. Search for information from their many research collections, such as BioMedical, Social Work, and Engineering.
The following resources will be useful to you when trying to locate books :
LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice. It also includes journal articles from general databases.
Google Books is a collection of digitized books and periodicals. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given its permission, the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
WorldCat, the OCLC Online Union Catalog, contains millions of records describing items owned by libraries around the world.
Project Gutenburg provides free access to over 33,000 out of copyright titles.
Psychology's Feminist Voices
The Resources section of this site provides a bibliography of works related to the history of women in psychology.
The Internet Archive is digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
These resources with help you find background information as well as provide bibliographies of books and articles.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks features review essays, written by leading experts, that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. UST currently subscribes to 7 subject collections.
Annual Reviews provide useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for scientific disciplines, including biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. UST has the full-text of most, but not all, annual reviews going back to the first issue. Read the instructions
for pairing your mobile device (so you have access to our subscription).
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) is a vast online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.
Cambridge Histories Online
Is a collection of more than 350 full text books published by Cambridge University Press. Subjects range widely across the humanities. It includes major works such as The Cambridge Ancient History, American history, British history, Economic history, General history, History of science, History of the book, Language and linguistics, Literary studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and social theory, Regional history, Religious studies, and more.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
This resource, published by the American Psychological Association and Oxford University Press, is the basic set for the field. Articles are written by authorities in the field and include extensive bibliographies. This is also available in print in the OSF Library Reference collection. The title link is for Volume #1. Search in PsycBOOKS for the entire set and/or specific articles.
Volume 1 : A-B
Volume 2 : C-Determinants
Volume 3 : Developmental-Goodenough
Volume 4 : Government-Learned
Volume 5 : Learning-Oppositional
Volume 6 : Optimism-Rapaport
Volume 7 : Rape-S
Volume 8 : T-Z
Find Book Reviews
The following indexes will help you find book reviews to specific titles:
JSTOR provides access to ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and the social sciences.
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.