The Bogleheads' Guide to Investing by
The irreverent guide to investing, Boglehead style The Boglehead's Guide to Investing is a DIY handbook that espouses the sage investment wisdom of John C. Bogle. This witty and wonderful book offers contrarian advice that provides the first step on the road to investment success, illustrating how relying on typical "common sense" promoted by Wall Street is destined to leave you poorer. This updated edition includes new information on backdoor Roth IRAs and ETFs as mainstream buy and hold investments, estate taxes and gifting, plus changes to the laws regarding Traditional and Roth IRAs, and 401k and 403b retirement plans. With warnings and principles both precisely accurate and grandly counterintuitive, the Boglehead authors show how beating the market is a zero-sum game. Investing can be simple, but it's certainly not simplistic. Over the course of twenty years, the followers of John C. Bogle have evolved from a loose association of investors to a major force with the largest and most active non-commercial financial forum on the Internet. The Boglehead's Guide to Investing brings that communication to you with comprehensive guidance to the investment prowess on display at Bogleheads.org. You'll learn how to craft your own investment strategy using the Bogle-proven methods that have worked for thousands of investors, and how to: Choose a sound financial lifestyle and diversify your portfolio Start early, invest regularly, and know what you're buying Preserve your buying power, keeping costs and taxes low Throw out the "good" advice promoted by Wall Street that leads to investment failure Financial markets are essentially closed systems in which one's gain garners another's loss. Investors looking for a roadmap to successfully navigating these choppy waters long-term will find expert guidance, sound advice, and a little irreverent humor in The Boglehead's Guide to Investing.
Confessions of a Credit Junkie by
Credit card expert Beverly Harzog shares how she went from being a credit card disaster to a credit card diva. When Beverly got out of college, she spent the next 10 years racking up debt on seven credit cards. Credit card limits, she believed, were merely "guidelines," certainly not anything to be taken seriously...especially if she was in dire need of a new pair of shoes. The fact that she was a CPA at the time adds an ironic twist to the credit quagmire she slowly descended into. In Confessions of a Credit Junkie, Beverly candidly details her own credit card mishaps and offers easy-to-follow advice, often with a touch of Southern humor, to help others avoid them. In this much-needed book, you'll learn: How to use the Credit Card Personality Quiz to choose the right credit cards The seven ways to use a credit card to rebuild credit How to get out of debt using a balance transfer credit card - and pay zero interest while doing it Credit card strategies to save a bundle on groceries, gas, and more Anyone in debt will benefit from the down-to-earth, practical tips Beverly offers.
Financial Independence (Getting to Point X): A Comprehensive Tax-Smart Wealth Management Guide, 2nd ed. by
Discover how the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 will change your journey to financial independence and what you need to do now to take advantage of the new law Financial Independence (Getting to Point X) offers practical, time-tested advice for reaching your financial goals--whatever they may be. Whether you're recovering from debt, putting kids through college, planning for retirement, starting your own business, or just seeking a healthier financial outlook, this book shows you how to get it done. No platitudes or empty advice here--just a clear roadmap to your goals, based on the effective management of the 10 Key Wealth Management Issues that threaten to derail us all. This new second edition has been updated to reflect President Trump's massive income tax changes. These historic changes will reduce the tax obligation of most Americans, but not all. This is the most significant tax reform in over 30 years, rendering old advice obsolete while opening new opportunities. This edition also includes a new chapter on becoming financially independent by starting your own business. Author John Vento knows exactly what these new laws entail, and this book puts his wisdom of experience to work for you to help you get on track to financial freedom. Saving, budgeting, managing debt, minimizing taxes, and living within your means--all classic financial advice, but easier said than done, right? In this book, you'll find real, practical advice for actually doing it--to the extent that makes sense for you. Understand the enormous changes taking place in the federal income tax code Learn which financial strategies have become obsolete, and what new opportunities you should take advantage of Negotiate your way through the 10 Key Wealth Management Issues with expert advice Find out if you have what it takes to reach financial independence by starting your own business Follow a clear roadmap to financial independence, no matter how you define it The goal is not perfection on all fronts, it's simply tailoring your journey to suit your destination. No unnecessary deprivation, no obsessive adjusting--simply paying attention to key issues may be enough, depending on your goal. Regulatory changes close some doors but open others, and opportunities still exist if you know where to look. Financial Independence (Getting to Point X) provides you with a roadmap to financial freedom, so that you can achieve your life goals and dreams.
Get a Financial Life: Personal Finance in Your Twenties and Thirties by
A completely revised and updated fourth edition of the New York Times bestseller, designed to guide younger adults through the world of personal finance. More than ever before, people in their twenties and thirties need help getting their financial lives in order. And who could blame them? These so-called millennials have come of age in the wake of the worst economic crisis in memory, and are now trying to get by in its aftermath. They owe record levels of student loan debt, face sky-high rents, and struggle to live on a budget in an uncertain economy. It's time for them to get a financial life. For two decades, Beth Kobliner's bestseller has been the financial bible for people in their twenties and thirties. With her down-to-earth style, she has taught them how to get out of debt, learn to save, and invest for their futures. In this completely revised and updated edition, Kobliner shares brand-new insights and concrete, actionable advice geared to help a new generation of readers form healthy financial habits that will last a lifetime. With fresh material that reflects the changing digital world, Get a Financial Life remains an essential tool for young people learning how to manage their money. From tackling taxes to boosting credit scores, Get a Financial Life can show those just starting out how to decrease their debt, avoid common money mistakes, and navigate the world of personal finance in today's ever-changing landscape.
Investing for Dummies by
The easy way to invest in your financial future In the world of investing, slow and steady wins the race. With this mantra in mind, trusted author and finance guru Eric Tyson is back with the latest edition of the #1 bestselling book, Investing For Dummies, to help you achieve your investment goals. Inside, he offers time-tested advice on how to develop a winning investment strategy that matches your abilities with your expectations -- all the while ensuring you're slowly and steadily growing your portfolio. No matter where you are in your investment planning, the recommendations and strategies in this popular and easy-to-follow reference offer everything you need to ramp up your portfolio. From the tax laws that affect investing decisions to the impact of the current political environment, this foolproof guide covers it all and gives you the confidence to invest like the pros. Develop and manage your portfolio in any market Choose investments that match your goals Navigate the world of online investing and robo advisors Whether you're a millennial securing your first job, an employee rolling over a 401(k), a baby boomer looking to shore up your nest egg prior to retirement -- or anywhere in between -- all the sound investment advice you need is at your fingertips!
Personal Finance for Dummies by
Take stock of your financial situation From budgeting, saving, and reducing debt, to making timely investment choices and planning for the future, Personal Finance For Dummies provides fiscally conscious readers with the tools they need to take charge of their financial life. This new edition includes coverage of an extensive new tax bill that took effect in 2018 and the impact on individuals, families, small businesses, and on real estate and investing decisions. Plus, it covers emerging investing interests like technology and global investing, cryptocurrencies, pot stocks, the lifestyle changes occurring with millennials, and more. Evaluate and manage your financial fitness Assess your credit report and improve your score Make smart investments in any economic environment Find out about international investing The expert advice offered in Personal Finance For Dummies is for anyone looking to ensure that their finances are on the right track--and to identify the areas in which they can improve their financial strategies.
Personal Finance in Your 20s and 30s for Dummies by
Create a solid pathway for financial success Millennials often confront greater difficulties--including economic uncertainty and student debt--than those who came before them. This new financial responsibility can be intimidating, and many people are unsure where to begin. Personal Finance in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies will help Millennials to be confident about managing their finances and get on a clear path toward financial security. Inside, trusted financial advisor Eric Tyson shows students and recent grads how to make smart financial decisions in order to pay off student loans, avoid any additional debt, and create a solid plan to ensure their financial success. From avoiding common money mistakes to making informed investment choices, Personal Finance in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies covers it all! Build a foundation through smart spending and saving Rent, buy, or sell a house File taxes the right way Protect your finances and identity in the digital world Get ready to forge your own path to financial security!