Research and Course Guides: Field Work: Evidence-Based Social Work: Places to Find Evidence

Finding Articles

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
For the Social Work Perspective
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Justice, Sociology, Social Structure
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology, Mental Health, Therapy and Treatment, Mental Health Care System
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Trauma, especially related to war
PsychiatryOnline (Including the DSM) This link opens in a new window
The DSM 5 and all the other DSMs back to the first DSM. 5 American Psychiatric Association journals included.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All fields -- most highly ranked journals
Scopus vendor guide is here: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus/home.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Health Care, Health Disparities, Mental Health, Medicine
From a librarian perspecitve, I feel this is the best thing our government does for us. Indexes everything published in relation to medicine
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education, Learning, Schools, Children, Child and Adult Development
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education, Learning, Schools, Children, Child and Adult Development
Criminal Justice Abstracts Full-text This link opens in a new window
Articles on recidivism, re-entry to the community after incarceration, police in the community, family relationships with incarcerated family members, and more
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .

Subject: Database's vocabulary (different for each database)

Keyword: Your vocabulary

LImiters: Special to each database ("Age Group" below)

Databases use a grammar of AND, OR, AND NOT. No prepositions, verbs, determiners, affixes -- anything you learned in English or human language classes

Social Work Today
Free, full text articles on a wide variety of topics. Site includes an e-newsletter, job bank and events calendar.
The New Social Worker Online Magazine
Full text feature articles and book reviews. Site includes a blog, job bank, discussion board, more.
SW&S: Social Work & Society International Online Journal
Scholarly research from international authors on topics that range from social work to public policy. One of the early open access (free) online journals.
Social Work and Society Online Magazine
European online magazine.

We don't have the book, but Bethel and St Kate's do. Click on the link "Request from a CLIC library.

In this case, we don't have the article. But click on the circled link -- we will find the article for you from a different library.

Click on the link that says InterLibrary Loan

Field Work: Evidence-Based Social Work: Places to Find Evidence

Finding Articles

Systematic Reviews/Meta-Analyses