Art of Advocacy - Discovery by
Covers the following areas of practice: Depositions Interrogatories and requests for production of documents Requests for admissions Combined discovery demands First published 1982. 1 Volume; Looseleaf; updated with revisions.
Chasing Paper by
Chasing Paper offers an insightful, humorous and practical approach to paper discovery. Veteran litigator Janet S. Kole suggests that paper discovery can appeal to young lawyers on several levels so it is less arduous, more satisfying and more productive. In addition to reshaping negative attitudes about paper discovery, the book offers concrete, practical tips on all aspects of paper discovery.
Discovery Practice by
Offers trial-tested guidance through all the intricacies of what to do, whether to do it, and how to do it -- at every stage of the discovery process.
Discovery Problems and Their Solutions by
Discovery Problems and Their Solutions, Third Edition teaches effective discovery. Judge Grimm and Messrs. Fax and Sandler interweave practical advice with case law and keen observations. Important developments since the Second Edition are looked at. This Third Edition also continues its focus on practice under the 2006 electronic discovery amendments to the Rules. Electronic discovery is inherently different from other types of discovery, and this book insightfully takes those differences into account. Discovery Problems and Their Solutions, Third Edition is an invaluable resource for discovery techniques and for associated motion practice.
Discovery Proceedings in Federal Court
Practical guide to the federal discovery rules, their application, and the strategies for using the rules for courtroom advantage.
Arkfeld's Best Practices Guide for Electronic Discovery & Evidence by
The Electronic Discovery and Evidence Best Practice Guide has been revamped and updated to offer an overview and workbook for the myriad of legal and technology issues that need to be addressed whether you are requesting or producing electronically stored information (ESI). This workbook will provide a plan and pretrial steps in discovering and disclosing ESI. It sets forth the key legal and technology issues you will encounter as you discover or produce ESI, cross-referenced into the main treatise for an in depth look at the various issues. Besides the substantial update, and based upon survey results, a 15-page meet and confer planning guide has been developed and included with the Guide. This planning guide provides the key topics and questions that a party must address with their client and adversary as they prepare for, and participate in, a pretrial conference involving electronically stored information (ESI).
Digital Forensics for Legal Professionals by
Digital Forensics for Legal Professionals is a complete non-technical guide for legal professionals and students to understand digital forensics. In the authors' years of experience in working with attorneys as digital forensics experts, common questions arise again and again: "What do I ask for?" "Is the evidence relevant?" "What does this item in the forensic report mean?" "What should I ask the other expert?" "What should I ask you?" "Can you explain that to a jury?" This book answers many of those questions in clear language that is understandable by non-technical people. With many illustrations and diagrams that will be usable in court, it explains technical concepts such as unallocated space, forensic copies, timeline artifacts and metadata in simple terms that make these concepts accessible to both attorneys and juries. The book also explains how to determine what evidence to ask for, evidence that might be discoverable, and furthermore, it provides an overview of the current state of digital forensics, the right way to select a qualified expert, what to expect from that expert, and how to properly use experts before and during trial. With this book, readers will clearly understand different types of digital evidence and examples of direct and cross examination questions. It includes a reference of definitions of digital forensic terms, relevant case law, and resources. This book will be a valuable resource for attorneys, judges, paralegals, and digital forensic professionals. Provides examples of direct and cross examination questions for digital evidence Contains a reference of definitions of digital forensic terms, relevant case law, and resources for the attorney
E-Discovery for Everyone by
e-Discovery for Everyone is an introduction to e-Discovery that avoids over-technicality, without being substantively superficial, and manages to be interesting and amusing. Ralph has been writing his e-Discovery Team blog since 2006, and e-Discovery for Everyone assembles many of his most helpful and recent blog posts in a collection that will be of value to newcomers to e-Discovery as well as seasoned practitioners. The book is written in a conversational style, and is divided into short chapters easily read in a relatively short sitting.
Electronic Discovery & Records & Information Management Guide Scope Information by
This treatise offers comprehensive and periodic treatment of key topics affecting law firms, including organizational, management, and leadership issues. Based on the practical collective experience of Hildebrandt's consultants and their clients over a 30-year period, you will gain access to current thinking on the day-to-day issues of leading and managing modern law firms. You will also learn about emerging trends and what are considered to be the best practices over a wide range of management topics.
Managing E-Discovery and ESI by
The legal landscape, and litigation, have changed markedly in the last decade.This book identifies the key issues related to ESI--pre-litigation management, preservation, collection, processing, review, production, and use in deposition and at trial--and provides clear, practical guidance to litigators. The book is divided into eight parts that follow the sequence from the pre-litigation stage through trial.