Trial Advocacy in a Nutshell by
Trial Advocacy in a Nutshell was one of the first works to analyze and illustrate discrete courtroom skills and techniques in the context of principles of persuasion. The expanded and updated Sixth Edition incorporates a number of features that make the book more indispensable for trial lawyers than ever. Part 1 provides a concrete and detailed guide for developing "argument-centered narratives," which are credible stories that support advocates' desired inferences. Part 1 concludes with an important new chapter that explains the role of argument-centered narratives in the context of arbitrations, mediations and settlement negotiations. Part 2 analyzes and illustrates strategies, techniques and rules for presenting argument-centered narratives effectively during all phases of trial, from opening statement to closing argument, with a separate chapter analyzing effective examination strategies for expert witnesses. The Sixth Edition expands the coverage of the Federal Rules of Evidence, explaining and illustrating how to lay foundations that satisfy evidentiary requirements set forth in the rules. Foundational requirements for electronic records and many other types of exhibits, including those prepared by courtroom graphics experts, also gain additional prominence in the new edition. Some of the illustrative examinations and arguments in the new edition are drawn from trials that took place in a variety of eras. For example, the chapter on closing argument compares arguments made in the murder trial of Euphiletus (Greece, circa 400 B.C.) with those made in the trial of OJ Simpson (1995). Among the other trials from which illustrations are drawn are those of the Rosenbergs (the so-called "atomic spies," 1953), the Menendez Brothers (1991), the "Hillmon case" (1890's), and the "Triangle Shirtwaist Fire" case (1911). The illustrations from these cases are not only interesting, but also suggestive of enduring principles of persuasion. Another feature of the Sixth Edition are analyses of examples drawn from classic courtroom films such as Anatomy of a Murder, 12 Angry Men and My Cousin Vinny. Combined with these new and expanded features, the Sixth Edition preserves many of the features that have made the book so valuable to readers. For example, the book continues to carefully explain principles, illustrate them, and analyze the illustrations. Popular "models," such as the Credibility Model and the Safety Model of Cross Examination, also appear in the new edition. Also carried forward is the book's light tone which makes it not only useful but also a good read.
The First Trial (Where Do I Sit? What Do I Say?) in a Nutshell by
The First Trial Nutshell is a fresh and unique approach to advocacy instruction. Concentrating on the overall approach to trying a case, it weaves persuasion and procedure to help lawyers and law students prepare for their first trials with confidence. Addressing everything from technology to where to sit and what to say it meshes the practical advice and "how to" instructions with sophisticated persuasive techniques. Small enough to be read in a single sitting, this book will serve as the perfect first primer and a continuing resource for experienced litigators to read again before trial mediation or arbitration.
Trial and Lawyering Skills in a Nutshell by
A short, funny, insightful, and occasionally philosophical guide to what you'll need to know, planning and conducting trials, interviewing and counseling clients, negotiating cases and drafting deals, writing briefs and making oral arguments, solving problems and telling stories and using your computer to make you a better lawyer. And some good poems and bad jokes.
Evidence in a Nutshell by
The latest version of the Federal Rules is the anchor of this book, with some state variations noted where important. The text summarizes significant U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including the latest Confrontation Clause cases; additional leading cases; forefront expert, scientific, and electronic evidence developments; and principal schools of evidentiary thought. Includes practical implementation as well as scholarly approaches. It pays attention to the litigation process as a whole and includes interdisciplinary cross-pollination where helpful. Numerous signpost-type headings and subheadings light the way, concisely summarizing the gist of each evidentiary concept. The detailed table of contents alone could serve as a complete course outline. Distinctively, an analytical, thoughtful approach is emphasized throughout.
Pretrial Litigation in a Nutshell by
The seventh edition of Pretrial Litigation in a Nutshell addresses both the law governing pretrial litigation and the legal skills required for successful practice in this area. The text is fully updated to incorporate all amendments to the Federal Rule of Civil Procedure through December 1, 2019, as well as recent federal statutes and judicial decisions. Although the text's focus is on federal statutes and rules, the pretrial litigation skills discussed are essential to successful pretrial litigation in both state and federal courts. The text coverage proceeds in the same order as does most pretrial litigation, starting with client interviewing and the establishment of the attorney-client relationship, then considering pretrial planning and investigation, the complaint and responses to the complaint, disclosure and discovery, pretrial motion practice (including summary judgment motions), pretrial conferences and orders, and settlement.
Anatomy of a Trial by
Now, updated and revised, this time-tested resource is written for young trial lawyers eager to gain an appreciation of how to handle real problems encountered during jury trials. You'll gain insight into jury trials via two particular cases: A criminal case involving highly complex subjects and law campaign finance, national politics, and Hollywood fundraising, and necessitates simplifying and storytelling for the jury. A civil case illustrating the reality that most cases hinge on the credibility of witnesses, also showcasing the critical importance of experts in trials of a technical nature. This second edition also now includes an all-new third case, a non-jury civil trial This helpful reference is a thorough exploration of trial techniques through the lens of actual cases and is an instructive must for any new trial lawyer."
The Art and Science of Trial Advocacy by
Introduction to trial advocacy -- Case development -- Motions -- Jury selection -- Opening statement -- Direct examination -- Trial exhibits and demonstrative evidence -- Cross-examination -- Objections -- Expert witnesses -- Closing argument.
Fundamental Trial Advocacy by
This book meets the needs of 21st century advocates, capturing the best of the past with the promise of the future. It seamlessly combines fundamental presentation skills, superior analytical structures, and an in-depth discussion of how to choose what to do during trial, and why it matters. The text identifies core competencies, providing both clear written examples and accompanying instructional podcasts. The structured approach focuses on mastering advocacy skills individually while understanding how they work systemically. It empowers advocates to tell stories, ask questions, and argue effectively; capturing the essence of competent, professional, and persuasive advocacy. For more information and additional teaching materials, visit the companion site.
The how-to-win trial manual : a no-holds-barred sure-fire way to win by
The royal road and the art of persuasion -- Truth in the courtroom -- Jury consultants prey on fearful lawyers -- You are the key to winning -- Your winning theme must jibe with what jurors know from life -- Building a winning theme that is consistent with what jurors know from life -- Tools of persuasion -- Opening arguments -- Using your bad facts to win -- The burden of proof -- Don't sound like a lawyer -- Empathy -- and more
How to Succeed as a Trial Lawyer by
How to Succeed as a Trial Lawyer, Second Edition is a compendium of essentially every aspect of the civil litigation process and then some, told with humor and erudition. This book does not purport to be an academic treatment of the subject. Instead, it provides practical pointers on everything from dealing with clients and adversaries to managing ethical dilemmas to marketing one's practice and learning how to avoid alienating prospective clients at the next fund-raising dinner. The section on effective deposition-taking is a first-rate primer on that subject. Taken as a whole, the book provides a comprehensive checklist and how-to guide for civil litigators. This book is equivalent to having a sophisticated and accomplished trial lawyer in the family who is willing to take the time to share the fruits of his long experience and savvy insight on everything that matters in the civil litigation process. Two themes permeate this book. First, in the Edelstein view of the litigation process, less is almost always more. As noted, briefs should be edited to the point of gem-like brilliance. Significantly, the cogency that underlies the most effective briefs also informs other key aspects of the litigation process, from determining the necessary scope of discovery to sifting through the claims to present in a complaint or to pursue at trial. Second, every trial lawyer needs to identify the themes that will advance the client's cause and make certain that every litigation judgment is consistent with those themes. Following the precepts of this book will maximize every client's opportunity for success while minimizing the needless costs and expense that have given the contemporary litigation process such a bad reputation. Litigation is a challenging vocation. It demands not only intellectual ability but attention to detail, perseverance, creative problem-solving, persuasiveness, focus, integrity, and the ability to press the client's position with enthusiasm while maintaining sufficient detachment to provide the objective, independent advice the client requires. How to Succeed as a Trial Lawyer, Second Edition is an invaluable guide to each of these requirements and more.
How to Try a Jury Case by
Preparation -- Commencement of the trial -- Voir dire -- The opening statement -- Direct examination of witnesses -- Cross-examination of witnesses -- Rehabilitation of your witnesses -- The expert witness -- Closing argument -- Some concluding thoughts.
McElhaney's Trial Notebook by
Trial Notebook offers hundreds of techniques and tactics for every stage of a trial's progress in spare, lively, memorable prose. You get strategies grounded in actual courtroom experience that will improve the effectiveness of your advocacy.
Modern Trial Advocacy by
Modern Trial Advocacy presents a realistic and contemporary approach to learning and developing trial advocacy skills. This book offers a sophisticated theory-driven approach to advocacy training that distinguishes it from other books in the field. In addition to the valuable sections on uses of theory, theme, and story frame; the persuasive value of inferences and cognitive theory; and discussion of witness "credibility variables," explaining how to bolster or undermine testimony. The Fifth Edition includes: * a brand new chapter on using electronic visuals and technology in the courtroom; and * new enhanced video content-top NITA faculty demonstrate the core techniques discussed in the book so you can observe and learn these skills in a new way.
The Power Trial Method by
The Power Trial Method, Second Edition, a unique, easy-to-read trial skills primer, begins with a simple question about jury trials: Who has the power in the courtroom to decide whether you win or lose? David J.F. Gross and Charles F. Webber, two of the nation's most highly regarded trial lawyers, developed this material to introduce new litigators to the trial process and to reduce the anxiety associated with jury trials by emphasizing key methods of persuasion and presentation.
Trial Techniques and Trials by
Buy a new version of this textbook and receive access to the Connected eBook with Study Center on CasebookConnect, including: lifetime access to the online ebook with highlight, annotation, and search capabilities; practice questions from your favorite study aids; an outline tool and other helpful resources. Connected eBooks provide what you need most to be successful in your law school classes. Learn more about Connected eBooks By far the most thorough and detailed of the books in the field, Trial Techniques and Trials is a comprehensive yet concise handbook that covers all aspects of the trial process and provides excellent examples illustrating strategies for opening statements, jury selection, direct- and cross-examination, exhibits, objections, and more. Extensive examples are clustered into three groups: personal injury, commercial, and criminal for ease in finding particular areas of trial practice. Tom Mauet and Steve Easton, renowned for their skills both as writers and trial attorneys, break the trial process down into its critical components for better and quicker comprehension by students and practicing attorneys who have little or no trial experience. New to the Eleventh Edition: Updates regarding recent amendments to the Federal Rules of Evidence Additional emphasis on presenting evidence and argument visually, not just orally, for modern juries Coverage of additional aspects of trial including site visits and foundation battles over emails and other electronic communications Professors and students will benefit from: Integrated discussion of the strategy and psychology of persuasion--particularly regarding jury selection, opening statements, and closing arguments Numerous illustrations from tort cases, criminal cases, and commercial trials Broad and flexible examples that allow readers to focus on either the plaintiff's or the defendant's side of the case--or both Logical organization that follows the chronology of a trial process A companion website with additional examples, a trial notebook, and other tools for trial lawyers Video lectures about critical trial moments Video demonstrations of effective trial advocacy, including a complete jury trial Extensive supplemental materials available on the book's Connected Casebook resource page
Winning at Trial by
Chosen the best book from over 300 entries, Winning at Trial has been singled out by the Association of Continuing Legal Education (ACLEA) for its clarity and innovative teaching methods. Winning at Trial by Shane Read is the only book that teaches trial skills by analyzing video and transcripts of actual trials. It is also the only book that reveals the secrets of jury decision-making through the use of video in collaboration with one of the nation's foremost jury consultants, DecisionQuest. This innovative book is being used by law schools throughout the country for both their introductory and advanced trial advocacy classes, as well as by law firms for their training programs. The author, a seasoned trial lawyer and professor, has carefully selected video and transcripts from actual trials (4 hours of video on two DVDs) that show lawyers demonstrating both great and terrible skills in the courtroom - which teach trial techniques and strategy in an interesting and memorable way.