The Films on Demand World Cinema Collection includes more than 350 movies from directors across the globe. Includes the silent era, American and European films from the mid-20th century, and award-winning contemporary films featured by Global Lens. The collection is subdivided by regions: German Cinema, French Cinema, Italian Cinema, Latin American Cinema, Chinese-language Cinema, Turkish and Middle Eastern Cinema, and more.
Swank Digital Campus allows the UST community to stream major motion pictures. Watch films directly through the Swank interface or add links to Canvas for assigned viewing.
NOTE: Limited to classroom and personal use (cannot be used for campus screenings/public events).
Multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos from Infobase. Provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences, world cinema, and more.
Academic Video Online is a collection of streaming videos covering the areas of art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, and women's studies.
Hundreds of full-length feature films for instructional purposes. The collection focuses on current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
NOTE: Limited to classroom and personal use (cannot be used for campus screenings/public events).
The Music & Media Collections house more than 100 thousand titles in streaming audio, streaming video, music CDs, DVD, and VHS. It is located in room 104A in the OSF Library. Go to this link to find us: https://libguides.stthomas.edu/music-media/.
Cindy Badilla-Melendez, Head of the Music & Media Collections
651-962-5464 Collections/Reference.
Music & Media Circulation: 651-962-5447
libmedia@stthomas.edu
Smithsonian Global Sound streaming audio database has more than 40,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds from Smithsonian/Folkways and other record labels. Included are readings of literary and dramatic works, historic speeches, language instruction, natural sounds, environmental and mechanical sounds, sound effects, children's music, and traditional music from virtually everywhere in the world. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
Naxos Music Library streaming audio database offers over a million tracks of classical, film, world, and folk music. Users can search for music by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument, label, duration, mood, or genre. Added features include composer biographies, musical terms glossaries, work analyses, and K-12 curriculum resources. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
