Research and Course Guides: Psychological Assessment: Tests & Measures

How to Use of Tests

APA's Page on Testing and Assessment
Information on how to find and use tests. Ethical and fair use of tests. Program to increase the number of "Quantitative Psychologists." Testing Information Clearinghouse
Buro's Institute Clearinghouse
Articles on ethical and scientific use of assessments, as well as design and development of instruments.

Search for Tests

Mental Measurements Yearbook & Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook describes and critically analyzes of more than 2000 commercially available standardized English-language tests: educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement, and intelligence. Evaluates tests for validity, reliability, and ease of testing. No full-text tests are included. Tests in Print (TIP) is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Utah State University lists tips to search.

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
Helen Hough, from the University of Texas, Arlington, developed this database of tests, inventories, and measures included in compilation volumes (books of tests). For more information about how to search in this database, check out my blog post Tests & Measures in the Social Sciences

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Look up journal articles in PsycINFO to find out which are used for different purposes, which are used most often, how they are used, and find tests of their validity and reliability. You can also find tests that are included in the article by typing in "appended" in the Tests & Measures Field.

SDSU Test Finder
You may search for tests published in books and journals until 2007. Once you find an interesting test, search our catalog to see if we own the book or subscribe to the journal. If not, use InterLibrary Loan to request it.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Suggested Terms:
Evaluation
Needs assessment
Behavioral assessment
Personality assessment
Educational evaluation
Outcome assessment (Education)
Portfolio assessment (Education)
SAT (Educational test)
Value-added assessment (Education)
Transdisciplinary Play-Based Assessment
Family assessment
General Intellectual Skills Assessment
Expanded content and coverage replacing Education Full Text.
PsychiatryOnline (Including the DSM) This link opens in a new window
The entire DSM is online for our students, faculty, and staff. Including all editions, supplements, and revisions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, from the DSM to the DSM-5-TR. Includes comparisons to the ICD. Cool textbooks including the Casebook and the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis Also includes Practice Guidelines, 6 journals, and fun assessment tools for self-study.

Correlation

From xkcd comics.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM5)

PsychiatryOnline (Including the DSM) This link opens in a new window
The entire DSM is online for our students, faculty, and staff. Including all editions, supplements, and revisions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, from the DSM to the DSM-5-TR. Includes comparisons to the ICD. Cool textbooks including the Casebook and the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis Also includes Practice Guidelines, 6 journals, and fun assessment tools for self-study.

Online Assessment Measures

(note that APA here means the American Psychiatric Association)

"For further clinical evaluation and research, the APA is offering a number of “emerging measures” in Section III of DSM–5. These patient assessment measures were developed to be administered at the initial patient interview and to monitor treatment progress, thus serving to advance the use of initial symptomatic status and patient reported outcome (PRO) information, as well as the use of “anchored” severity assessment instruments..."