Pocket Oxford-Hachette French dictionary : English-French by 
Pocket Oxford Spanish dictionary = Diccionario Oxford compact by 
Tuttle Concise Chinese Dictionary by
This is the most up-to-date Mandarin Chinese Dictionary available today. Tuttle Concise Chinese Dictionary has both Chinese to English and English to Chinese sections. Its compact size allows for easy transport without limiting the content. This Mandarin dictionary is perfect for Chinese language students, or business people and tourists traveling to China who wish to learn Chinese. It contains over 25,000 words and expressions (including all the required words for the official HSK Chinese Proficiency Examination), carefully selected to cover all important aspects of life and commerce in China. In addition, extensive information on Chinese grammar and Mandarin pronunciation are included. This Chinese dictionary contains the following features: 25,000 Chinese words and expressions. Chinese-English and English-Chinese sections Up-to-date local Chinese slang and idioms. A guide to Mandarin pronunciation and Chinese Grammar. An explanation of Mandarin tones and syllables. An introduction to writing Chinese and stroke order. Radical and stroke indexes for easy reference. All the Chinese vocabulary included in the HSK language examinations. Romanized forms (hanyu pinyin) including tones for accurate pronunciation. Extensive notes with detailed tips on usage and social context. Parts of speech, common phrases and idiomatic expressions. Other dictionaries in this bestselling series you might be interested in include:Concise Japanese Dictionary, Concise Korean Dictionary, andConcise Vietnamese Dictionary.
Culture to Culture by
"Indispensable to international students studying U.S. law, Culture to Culture explains the U.S. legal system's rhetorical preferences, linguistic specializations, and current conventions. Readers will be able to learn comfortably and quickly what U.S. audiences expect. The book provides students with U.S. legal tools for reading texts, analyzing problems, researching sources, organizing analytical patterns, and writing in acceptable legal styles. Covering a broad range of topics and questions, it introduces current conventions through a variety of legal texts, including letters, memos, transactional documents, briefs, exams, and scholarly papers. Culture to Culture will prepare international lawyers to be researchers and writers in both U.S. law schools and U.S. legal practices, or to return to their own countries with an analytical perspective on how U.S. lawyers research, analyze, negotiate, and write."--BOOK JACKET.
Legal Reasoning, Research, and Writing for International Graduate Students by
Legal Reasoning, Research, and Writing for International Graduate Students helps readers understand and approach legal research and writing assignments the way attorneys do in the United States. Since most students will have studied civil law and some comparative law, but are unfamiliar with U.S. legal culture, the book begins by comparing common and civil law and then builds practical skills on this foundation. This comparative law perspective helps explain unique and important features of the United States legal system. Chapters are short and clear, and repeat the major points to aid, in particular, LL.M. candidates who are not native English speakers. A methodology of research and writing in preparing legal documents is presented, and reasoning and writing methods are based on standard IRAC analysis used by many instructors. To allow instructors to discuss citation requirements as they become needed, citation format information is integrated into the text. An important discussion of plagiarism and U.S. law school honor codes addresses subjects that surprise LL.M. students from cultures with a wide variety of norms and standards. As the Internet is likely to be the only legal research source available to foreign attorneys accessing U.S. law from their countries of origin,most of the exercises in each chapter can be done on the Web as well as in the law library, with either commercial or non-commercial websites. Charts and summaries can be used as helpful reference tools. The Third Edition offers suggestions and exercises to gain confidence and participate in U.S. classrooms. Research chapters are updated to include more in-depth international research explanations and exercises. More in-depth examples and exercises demonstrate drafting contracts. An expanded and revised chapter on the use of case method includes a synthesis of international case law, such as WTO appellate opinions and CISG interpretation. A new section on legal changes includes indications of success and failure. Hallmark features of Legal Reasoning, Research, and Writing for International Graduate Students: Helps international students understand and approach legal research and writing assignments the way attorneys do in the United States Uses a comparative law perspective to explain unique and important features of the United States legal system begins by comparing common and civil law builds on this foundation with practical skills assumes the reader has studied law but is unfamiliar with U.S. legal culture Helps LL.M. candidates who are not native English speakers, in particular features chapters that are short and clear repeat the major points for greater comprehension Includes methodology of research and writing componentsin preparing legal documents bases reasoning andwriting components on standard IRAC analysis integrates citation format information into the text Incorporates discussion of plagiarism and U.S. law school honor codes helpful when teaching students from a wide variety of cultures Includes exercises in each chapter to apply new skills to practical problems exercises can be done in the law library or on the Internet, with commercial or non-commercial Websites the Internet is likely the only legal research source available to foreign attorneys accessing US law from their countries of origin Provides charts and summaries as reference tools
U.S. Legal Reasoning, Writing, and Practice for International Lawyers by
Table of contents: A brief history of the common law in the United States -- Similarities and differences between civil law systems and the U.S. legal system -- The constitution and the U.S. system of government -- The three-tiered U.S. court system -- Reading cases -- Writing a case brief -- Organizing information from cases -- The civil litigation process in the United States -- Deductive and inductive reasoning -- Introduction to U.S. legal rhetoric -- Contrasts between the rhetorical styles of English and of other languages -- Writing the office memorandum : large-scale and small-scale organization -- The heart of legal reasoning -- Citations to authority -- The question presented, the short answer, and executive summaries -- The introduction, or statement of facts -- Writing and editing the work : verb tenses, articles, plurals, and punctutation -- Editing unnecessary language and checking for proper legal vocabulary, active voice, and action verbs -- Overview of legal research -- Working in U.S. law firms -- Writing emails and the email memorandum -- Writing client letters and letters to opposing counsel -- Overview of contract drafting -- Law school skills : preparing for and taking final examinations.
The Aba Spanish Legal Phrasebook by
Summary: This pocket-sized guide identifies common American legal phrases and concepts and provides accurate Spanish translations. The book is divided into sections based on substantive areas of law including criminal law, family law, labor and employment law, personal injury and medical malpractice, immigration, bankruptcy, and business law. In addition, a handy pronunciation guide makes communication a breeze.
Dahl's Law Dictionary by 
Englisch-Deutsches und Deutsch-Englisches Wörterbuch der Rechts- Und Geschäftssprache by