Circulation
651-962-4900
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
Reference
651-962-4902
lawreference@stthomas.edu
1000 LaSalle Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Directions & Parking
Burton's Legal Thesaurus by
THE FIRST AND MOST COMPREHENSIVE LEGAL THESAURUS EVER PUBLISHED Updated with 1,000 essential new terms--from "whistleblower" to "bailout" The first book of its kind when it was orginally published in 1980, Burton's Legal Thesaurus has become a staple for everyone in the legal profession. Addressing the newest concepts before the nation's highest courts, the fifth edition celebrates 35 years of this one-of-a-kind law reference tool. With 11,000 critical-to-know legal terms, synonyms, definitions, and parts of speech, Burton's is essential for: Partners, associates, attorneys, and judges, who will appreciate the timeliness of the 1,000-plus new entries Law school students seeking to use a more specific word or recall a forgotten word Journalists and scholars looking for the right word to fit the thought PRAISE FOR PREVIOUS EDITIONS OF BURTON'S LEGAL THESAURUS "A tool to strengthen the lawyer's vocabulary and improve the precision of legal writing." -- Maryland Bar Journal "Given the popularity of plain language laws, the Legal Thesaurus could be just the book to own." -- United States Law Week "The legal profession should find this volume valuable in using the exact word to convey the meaning intended." -- New York State Bar Journal "It is through the use of such a tool as the Legal Thesaurus that one may find the precise term to fit the nuances of a particular situation." -- William O. Douglas, Justice, U.S. Supreme Court, 1939-1975
Legal Thesaurus/Dictionary by
A complete reference for legal writers and researchers, this book offers synonyms, antonyms and pronunciation guides for legal words and terms. And it covers how to use the legal phrase in a sentence.
Black's Law Dictionary 11th Edition, Hardcover by 
International Law by
The system of public international law has reached a major turning point in its history and is confronting serious challenges generated by a variety of developments unfolding in the structure of the international society. This Dictionary acquaints legal and other professionals, students, and interested general readers with the basic tenets of public international law, combining the features of both a brief encyclopedic dictionary and a textbook in clear, understandable language. A list of acronyms and abbreviations; a glossary of Latin phrases; a chronology that offers a historical perspective by listing major developments relating to international law throughout the centuries; a table of cases with references to entries; and a list of the 373 entries precede the main text. The survey of international law is organized into nine chapters. Chapter I contains the usual introductory topics found in international law textbooks: the nature of this law, its sources, the relationship between international and national ("municipal") law, and some other general problems. Chapters II-VIII deal with matters coming within the scope of the "law of peace," organized according to the framework consisting of: states, individuals, spatial context, and interaction. Chapter IX, whose subject unfortunately becomes ever more relevant, describes the rules governing the conduct of warfare, that is, international humanitarian law. Numerous cross-references in bold lead the reader to appropriate entries, and the abundant references to primary sources, mostly treaties and court cases, enable the reader to locate the materials needed for research. The selective bibliography includes books, research aids, textbooks, and casebooks, as well as recent books on special international law topics. This Dictionary is a useful addition to both public and academic libraries, including, in particular, libraries of law schools. The format of the book allows it to be used as a reference guide for legal professionals, scholars inter
Modern Dictionary for the Legal Profession by 
Webster's New World Law Dictionary by
The Plain-English Legal Dictionary for Anyone Who Wants to Understand the Often Incomprehensible Terminology Law has a language all its own. Webster's New World Law Dictionary translates it clearly. Written in plain English, it's much easier to understand than typical legal documents. It's up-to-date and comprehensive, with: * Clear, concise, and accurate definitions of more than 4,000 legal terms * Coverage of terms from all areas of law, including criminal law, contracts, evidence, constitutional law, property law, and torts * Common abbreviations, foreign words and phrases, and a full copy of the United States Constitution, including the Bill of Rights and all subsequent amendments * Definitions of newer terms such as alternative minimum tax, three strikes law, and assisted suicide In addition to those in the legal field, this desk reference is invaluable to journalists, researchers, lay people dealing with legal issues, and even those who simply want to use legal terms correctly in order to make their points more convincingly.
Dictionary of Law by
This dictionary uses example sentences from journals and magazines to show words used in context. Complex terms are explained in clear, simple language, making the dictionary particularly suitable for users without a background in law and for non-native English speakers. A recommended text for a number of law courses, this book is ideal for students and all professional who need to understand legal terminology
The Wolters Kluwer Bouvier Law Dictionary Desk Edition
Update Schedule: Updated regularly - Atypical update schedule/as received from the publisher
Description: Derived from the famous 1853 law dictionary used by Daniel Webster, Abraham Lincoln, and Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., The Wolters Kluwer Bouvier Law Dictionary Desk Edition has been brought completely up-to-date by a distinguished and widely-published legal scholar and teacher. Steve Sheppard, with law degrees from Oxford and Columbia Universities, brings his scholarship, international practice, and litigation experience to bear in making the famous text as relevant today as it was when it first broke ground in American law. Definitions derived from contemporary as well as classic sources give the reference book its depth and authority. Building on Bouvier's structure and entries, Professor Sheppard has added thousands of new terms and rewritten many original definitions. 8,500 robust, paragraph-length entries explain more than 11,200 words and phrases, far more than the original two-volume set of 6,600. Every entry comes with the complete derivation of the term and quotations - numbering in the tens of thousands - illustrating its use, making this source as comprehensive and thought-provoking as the great Abridgments of the Common Law. Each entry is written to be understood by the modern student, argued by the modern lawyer, and cited by the modern judge. An intuitive structure and thorough cross-referencing makes the first complete revision of this essential dictionary in more than a hundred years accessible and easy to use.