Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals for Systematic Theology
Some good sources for articles addressing systematic theology and its facets are listed below. However, you will have better luck using a database like ATLA to your left which includes articles from MANY periodicals you search at one time.
Irish Theological Quarterly (online)
This journal, rooted in the Catholic tradition but ecumenical in approach, publishes articles related to systematic, historical, and moral theology, as well as sacred scriptures.
International journal of systematic theology (online)
Focusing on doctrine with occasional articles related to ethics, historical theology, and the philosophy of religion, IJST publishes work from a variety of ecclesial and academic traditions, largely from scholars in North America and Europe.
Modern Theology (online)
This is an ecumenical source that dialogues with both contemporary and historic theologians. Articles, critical book reviews, review essays, and responses are published.
Periodicals subcribed to or titles where articles may be accessed via the library's databases: Click on hyperlink:
Religion - General (173)
Index Theologicus on the Web
For advanced searchers: This free resource from the University of Tubingen contains bibliographic citations for more than 600 periodicals dating from 1977-present. Journal results should be checked in CLICnet to determine local availability.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index, with over 470 titles in full text out of over 2,250 titles indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, review, and essays: international in scope. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
JSTOR provides access to BACK FILES of digitized versions of complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and the social sciences. The Arts & Sciences collections represent the building blocks of an interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that
indexes the full text of scholarly literature (journals) across an array
of publishing formats and disciplines. It includes most peer-reviewed
online journals. Use FIND IT@UST Libraries to get the full-text if not available in Google Scholar.
Why use periodicals?
Periodicals are useful for three primary reasons: they...
- provide a wealth of valuable information that is current and timely
- contain the latest discussions on a topic
- cover topics not yet published in book form
Periodicals are created for different audiences. Some are for general readers and others for scholars and researchers.
Although the terms periodical, journal, serial and magazine have
slightly different definitions, you will likely hear them used
interchangeably. These are works that come out on a regular basis
(weekly, monthly, annually) and contain articles written by various