Spanish Language: Web Sites

Front pages of newspapers around the world.

The World Bank eLibrary is the World Bank’s subscription-based collection of nearly 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers. UST is not a suscriber but you are allowed to search, view and download of all free publications.

It is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. Especially conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries.

This site is a digital archive that includes a selected collection of scientific and humanities journals published by various academic units of the National Autonomous University of Mexico and some partner institutions. All publications have been carefully selected by strict criteria of quality and recognition from the world of magazines of this type.

It is the product of the cooperation of a network of institutions that work collaboratively to gather and disseminate bibliographic information about scientific publications produced in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal

Compiled by the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America, this work gives statistical information on the region and on individual countries. Covers population, industry, balance of payments, and social institutions.

Contains 120,000 free downloadable documents in six official languages covering all UNESCO fields of competence since 1945 and most of the publications edited by the Organization

Dialnet it is an open source database of Hispanic content of journal articles, books, thesis and more. Focus on Humanities, Political Science and Social Sciences

The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with other institutions. It offers information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.

Full-text of the current statistical yearbook. Includes social and economic development indicators.

A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Frequently updated site maintained by the CLA Language Resource Center at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis Campus.

Latin American Network Information Center – LANIC. From the University of Texas at Austin, this page will direct the user to current Latin American political and cultural information.