It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Church History (Patristic Era, Ecumenical Councils, the Papacy, and Saints): Reference Books
The historical development of the Church...Within 400 years after Jesus' passion, Christianity developed from an illegal, persecuted, and underground religion into the sole, official, dominant faith of the Roman Empire.
Clavis patrum latinorum : qua in corpus christianorum edendum optimas quasque scriptorum recensiones a Tertulliano ad Bedam / commode recludit Eligius Dekkers, opera usus qua rem praeparavit et iuvit Aemilius Gaar.
These Dictionaries and Encyclopedias can be quite useful for beginning research about Church History or Catholicism, or for clarifying terms and gaining background knowledge. Many entries include bibliographies.
The years 1987 and 1990 saw the publication of two unprecedented and immediately popular reference works, The New Dictionary of Theology and The New Dictionary of Sacramental Worship. The present work, The New Dictionary of Catholic Spirituality, edited by Michael Downey, is intended as a companion to these, with a parallel aim and purpose. The NDCS is a collaborative attempt to take stock of the remarkable developments in the Church and the world since the Second Vatican Council, but with a specific focus on the reform and renewal of Catholic spirituality that the Council set in motion. The dictionary is intended to serve as a reliable theological and pastoral resource, not just for experts, but for al those interested in spirituality: teachers at al levels, writers, preachers, and students. In addition to the over 500 entries, the dictionary includes alphabetical and topical indices, cross-referencing, and running heads al in a durable binding. Entries include: Prayer by John H. Wright, SJ Grace by Roger Haight, SJ Experience by Tad Dunne Praxis by Rebecca S. Chopp Sacraments by David N. Power, OMI Faith by Mary Ann Fatula, OP Hope by Monika K. Hellwig Love by Elizabeth Dreyer Virtue by Paul J. Wadell, CP Discernment of Spirits by Michael J. Buckley, SJ History of Christian Spirituality by Richard Woods, OPWestern Medieval Spirituality by Walter H. Principe, CSB Feminist Spirituality by Sandra M. Schneiders, IHM Early Christian Spirituality by Daniel J. Harrington, SJ Patristic Spirituality by David G. Hunter Reformation and Catholic Reformation Spiritualties by John W. O'Malley, SJ Modern Spirituality by Thomas F. McKenna, CM Contemporary Spirituality by James J. Bacik Apostolic Spirituality by Mary Milligan, RSHM Benedictine Spirituality by Terrence G. Kardong, OSB Cistercian Spirituality by Michael Casey, OCSO Franciscan Spirituality by Michael Blastic, OFM Conv Dominican Spirituality by Ronald J. Zawilla Ignatian Spirituality by Harvey D. Egan, SJ Lay Spirituality by Edward C. Sellner Trinitarian Spirituality by Catherine M. LaCugna and Michael Downey Christian Spirituality by Walter H. Principe, CSB
Use for quick look ups. Oxford Reference Online contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions on a wide variety of topics. Brief entries and information about art, biology, business, classics, computing, environmental science, economics, history, language, law, literature, medicine, physical science, political science, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science.
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) is a vast online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.
The four volumes contain numerous articles regarding the religious and societal life of the Reformation such as individuals, documents, and events. Articles included are Carlo Borromeo, Stanislaus Hosius, Paul III, Pius IV, Reginald Pole, Girolamo Seripando, and the Council of Trent. All of the articles are accompanied by a bibliography.