Study of the ethics, processes, and people which constitute the maintenance of health for human beings. Consists of the theological, philosophical, medical, scientific, and legal aspects of these issues. This guide is primarily from a Catholic viewpoint.
The National Catholic Bioethics Center is a research center located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Established in 1972, its mission is promoting and safeguarding the dignity of the human person.The Center publishes Ethics & Medics and The National Catholic Bioethics Quarterly, as well as books, including the Handbook on Critical Life Issues.
(Main homepage) Independent, nonpartisan, and nonprofit bioethics research institute founded in 1969. The Center's mission is to address fundamental ethical issues in the areas of health, medicine, and the environment as they affect individuals, communities, and societies.
The Institute on Biotechnology and the Human Future offers assessments of the scientific benefits and risks of new developments in biotechnology in light of their cultural and ethical significance. IBHF couples continuing academic and policy research with the ability to provide analysis to industry and policymakers.
The Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics in Baltimore, Maryland, United States is an independent, interdisciplinary center serving the entire Johns Hopkins University and Health System. It is dedicated to the study of complex moral and policy issues in biomedical science, health care, and health policy. Established in 1995, the Institute seeks answers to ethical questions by promoting research in bioethics and encouraging moral reflection among a broad range of scholars, professionals, st
The Nuffield Council on Bioethics is a UK-based independent charitable body, which examines and reports on ethical issues raised by new advances in biological and medical research
The Regenerative Medicine Institute (REMEDI), was established in 2003 as a Centre for Science, Technology & Engineering in collaboration with National University of Ireland, Galway. It obtained an award of €14.9 million from Science Foundation Ireland over five years.
It conducts basic research and applied research in regenerative medicine, an emerging field that combines the technologies of gene therapy and adult cell stem therapy. The goal is to use cells and genes to regenerate hea
The University of Toronto Joint Centre for Bioethics (JCB) is a partnership between the University of Toronto and affiliated healthcare organizations. The JCB studies important ethical, health-related topics through research and clinical activities. The JCB is a network of over 180 multidisciplinary professionals seeking to improve health care standards at both national and international levels. At the JCB, theory is put into practice.
A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion: syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, software, etc. The purpose of the Guide is to encourage and facilitate the incorporation of electronic resources into teaching.
Roman Catholic thinker Elizabeth Anscombe relfects on the theological implications of contraception and chastity. Writing as a Roman Catholic, Anscombe offers a penetrating moral analysis of marriage and sexuality that will benefit any reader who rejects the secularist reduction of marriage as merely a union that sanctions sexual activity between partners. (website annotation)
"The Linacre Centre for Healthcare Ethics exists to help Catholics and others to explore the Church's position on bioethical issues. Its perspective is informed by Catholic moral teaching, but in defending such teaching it seeks also to enable dialogue with those of no religious faith."
healthfinder.gov
has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from over 1,600
government and non-profit organizations to bring you the best, most
reliable health information on the Internet.
Created
in 1995, HON is a non-profit, non-governmental organization (Sponsored
by the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations) which focuses
on the essential question of the provision of health information to
citizens, information that respects ethical standards. To cope with the
unprecedented volume of healthcare information available on the Net,
the HONcode of conduct offers a multi-stakeholder consensus on
standards to protect citizens from misleading health information.
Includes
over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and
surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs
and illustrations.
resources
and information services on topics related to the ethical, legal and
social implications of research and clinical practice in human
genetics. These include databases searchable via the Internet, the full
text of online annotated bibliographies and other print publications.
Address
to the Participants in the International Congress on "Life-sustaining
Treatments and Vegetative State: Scientific and Ethical Dilemmas" 20
March, 2004
"The
question of how (by what standard)an individual should be declared dead
is once more a matter of controversy...The President's Council on
Bioethics seeks to illuminate the issues at the center of the renewed
debate about the inherently perplexing problems of determining human
death in an age of life-sustaining technologies. ...The President's
Council examines the main lines of criticism and defense of the
neurological standard v. traditional cardiopulmonary standard..."
[Preface]
This
Report arises from a study of "the ethical and legal implications of
the matter of defining death, including the advisability of developing
a uniform definition of death" and recommends the creation of a Uniform
Determination of Death Act for all states in the United States.
Authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations including information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, and latest health news.
Convocate is a database which connects international human rights documents to Catholic Social Teaching. 