Research and Course Guides: Business Ethics: Selected Resources: Online Encyclopedias

Citing Sources: In-text citation styles

To avoid plagiarism, you need to acknowledge the sources of major ideas or facts in your paper that are not the product of your own intellectual analysis. Cite each major idea or concept that you're using individually, don't just summarize many different concepts you find within a book or article and try to get by with a single citation.

See the Citing Sources Using APA Style tab for more detailed information, as well as the link below.

In-text citation guidelines
from Purdue's online writing lab. Basic information on how to cite sources in the text of your paper.

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide you with concise and pertinent summary information, and can serve as an overview of the topic. They also serve as a very good start point for research as each entry usually includes a bibliography that will guide you to works with more detailed information.

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including numerous entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
Blackwell Guide to Business Ethics
The Blackwell Guide to Business Ethics acquaints the reader with ethical issues in the practice of business, theoretical and pedagogical issues. It provides a foundation for understanding changes to the nature of business due to technology and globalization and includes discussions of current ethical issues in areas such as marketing, accounting, and financial markets.
Blackwell Handbook of Principles of Organizational Behaviour
This international handbook identifies and explains 29 timeless management principles – general truths that can be applied to all types of work situations. It is based on knowledge accumulated by numerous experts over many years of research and consulting.
Handbook of Economics & Ethics
Single-user e-book. Substantive articles on concepts and philosophers at the crossroads of economics and ethics.
Routledge Companion to Business Ethics
This Companion provides a novel overview of the discipline of business ethics, covering the major areas of the field as well as new and emerging topics. The eight thematic units range over an extraordinary set of subjects and include chapters on the history and pedagogy of business ethics, moral philosophy, the nature of business, responsibilities within the firm, economic institutions, the 2008 financial crisis, globalization, and business ethics in different regions of the world.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management (3rd Ed.)
A comprehensive 13 vol. business encyclopedia covering: Accounting, Business Ethics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Human Resource Management, International Management, Management Information Systems, Managerial Economics, Marketing, Operations Management, Organizational Behavior, Strategic Management, Technology and Innovation Management, plus an index. Articles arranged alphabetically within subject volumes; they contain good background information on the listed topic plus a bibliography for further reading

LibrarySearch - Audio search

Search Google Scholar

Use GET IT @UST Libraries to get the full-text if not available in Google Scholar.

Business Librarians

Marianne Hageman
mdhageman@stthomas.edu
651-962-5404

Jim Kelly
kell5174@stthomas.edu
651-962-5012

Andrea Koeppe
andrea.koeppe@stthomas.edu
651-962-4647