Research and Course Guides: + Sociology: Finding Books

Electronic Resources

These resources are available electronically in the UST Libraries collections.

Annual Review of Sociology
This resource includes annual updates which cover what research is being done in the field.
Annual Review of Anthropology

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is the reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. Articles are written by an international array of experts in the area. It includes over 1800 entries including key concepts, introductions to sociological theories and research, and extensive bibliographies for each article. It is regularly updated.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Reference eResources for Sociology

Dictionary of the social sciences by Craig Calhoun, ed
An Oxford University Press publication available online.

These resources are available in ebook format through the CLICnet catalog. Click on the title link to go to the record in CLICnet which provides access to that publication.

Encyclopedia of world poverty by general editor, Mehmet Odekon
A Sage publication available through Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Science, technology and society by edited by Sal Restivo.
An Oxford University Press publication. It provides interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture.
The new Blackwell companion to social theory by edited by Bryan S. Turner.
A dictionary of sociology by [edited] by John Scott and Gordon Marshall.
ISBN: 0191763055
Publication Date: 2014
International encyclopedia of the social sciences by William A. Darity, Jr., editor in chief.
ISBN: 9780028659657
The Blackwell companion to globalization by edited by George Ritzer.
The Blackwell companion to the sociology of culture by edited by Mark D. Jacobs and Nancy Weiss Hanrahan
The Blackwell companion to social inequalities by edited by Mary Romero and Eric Margolis.
The Blackwell companion to medical sociology by edited by William C. Cockerham.
The Blackwell companion to sociology by edited by Judith R. Blau.
The Blackwell companion to major contemporary social theorists by edited by George Ritzer
ISBN: 140510595X
The Blackwell dictionary of modern social thought by edited by William Outhwaite.
The Blackwell companion to social movements by edited by David A. Snow, Sarah A. Soule, and Hanspeter Kriesi.
Encyclopedia of power by edited by Keith Dowding
ISBN: 9781412927482
Publication Date: 2011
The Oxford encyclopedia of American social history by Lynn Dumenil, editor in chief
Publication Date: 2012

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)

Sage Research Methods Foundations This link opens in a new window
This database is the perfect companion for novice researchers. It provides bite-size, introductory overviews to all the major methods topics written by a renowned roster of methods experts, to help get you on your way. These accessible entries can help you get to the heart of the concept before you dig deeper into books or journal articles.

Search for Books and eBooks

LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice. My account

Sociology Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of social measurement by edited by Kimberly Leonard
Call Number: OSF Ref H62 .E53 2005
This 3-volume resource covers both quantitative and qualitative research measurement in the social sciences. It covers general topics in alphabetical order. Each article includes a glossary of terms and a bibliography for further reading.

These resources provide basic and background information for sociology research.

Encyclopedia of sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief, Rhonda Montgomery, managing editor.
Call Number: OSF Ref HM425 .E5 2000
This is one of the major basic, in-depth encyclopedias covering the field of sociology. Each of the articles in this 5-volume set ar signed and include a list of reference on each topic.
The social science encyclopedia by edited by Adam Kuper and Jessica Kuper.
Call Number: OSF Ref H41 .S63 2004
This 2-volume set is a basic encyclopedia with signed articles and bibliographies included.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences by editor-in-chief, James D. Wright
ISBN: 9780080970868
Publication Date: 2015
This is a major encyclopedia in the field. Each in-depth article is signed and includes cross-references and a bibliography of resources. Current edition is available online.

Other eResources for Sociology

Encyclopedia of race and racism by Patrick L. Mason, editor in chief
Publication Date: 2013
Covers topics on race and racism from the early 1400s to the present.
MNopedia by Minnesota Historical Society
This is "an online encyclopedia about Minnesota developed by the Minnesota Historical Society (MNHS) and its partners. It is a free, curated, and authoritative resource about our state. All of our articles are prepared by historians, consulting experts, professional writers, and others who have been vetted by MNHS."

Other Resources for Sociology

Encyclopedia of children and childhood : in history and society by Paula S. Fass, editor in chief
Call Number: OSF Reference HQ767.84 .E53 2003
Three-volume encyclopedia

These are other encyclopedias and handbooks which provide an overview of information for specific topics within the field of Sociology.

Encyclopedia of community : from the village to the virtual world by Karen Christensen & David Levinson, general editors.
Call Number: OSF Ref HM756 .E53 2003
4-volume set.
A supplementary dictionary of social research methods by John Scott and Gordon Marshall
ISBN: 9780191796494
Publication Date: 2015