Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Case Studies?
Case studies provide examples for learning how theory is put into practice. Business case studies may be found in print and online. Professors might use this guide to locate appropriate cases for their coursework, and students might use it to locate cases on specific companies they are researching or to gain insight on specific business issues they are studying.
Fee-Based Online Cases
Harvard Business School Cases
Order cases in hard copy, online, or purchase permission to duplicate for classes. Search and browse by topic. Faculty members can contact the UST Bookstore to arrange for printed copies of cases to be available for student purchase.
Search for cases by country, company, management discipline, topic or date; view on-line inspection copies before you order. Formerly the European Case Clearing House.
Darden Business Publishing
Topical organization of cases; abstracts provided. Cost to access cases is nominal.
Ivey Publishing is a leading publisher in providing business case studies with a global perspective.
Publishes "cases covering all core business disciplines, including a special collection of cases which address issues relevant to social impact and market-based solutions in emerging economies."
Obtaining Case Studies
Most academic libraries do not collect case studies systematically. Some may be available through Interlibrary Loan, but most must be purchased directly by the patron, in part because of copyright limits on distribution of this document type.
However, case studies are often featured in books or journal articles and may be identified by searching on "case studies" or "case study" in titles or abstracts. For example, pharmaceuticals AND 'case study'.
Case Studies in Books
In LibrarySearch, conduct a keyword search for "business case studies." To narrow your search, combine a term describing your topic (e.g. Marketing) with the phrase "business case studies."
Casebase: Case Studies in Global Business
Each volume includes new case studies expertly crafted to be challenging yet accessible. Focused on issues in emerging markets and industries across the globe, this series is both timely and provocative. We own vols. 1-2.
Cases in Journals
Harvard Business Review Article case studies - HBR publishes one case study per issue. The easiest way to find them is to conduct a database search. Full-text HBR articles are available online from Business Source Premier, from 1922 to the present. (See the later entry on "Fee-based Online Cases" for information on ordering other Harvard Business cases).
The Asian Case Research Journal
Provides a selection of cases on Asian companies and multi-national corporations operating in the Asia-Pacific; cases available through the Business Source Premier database, from June 2001 to the present.
Business Source Premier
Use BSP to find business case studies, articles and SWOT analyses by typing in the name of a company and choosing a specific format limiter.
Use Emerald to find case studies on companies or concepts such as leadership, market strategies, or team building by adding 'case studies' to your search. Emerald contains a lot of international management sources.