Research and Course Guides: Management Research Guide: Online Encyclopedias

Why use encyclopedias?

General Business and Management encyclopedias provide you with concise and pertinent summary information, and serving as an overview of the topic. They also serve as very good starting points for research as each entry usually includes a bibliography that will guide the reader to works with more detailed information.

Research consultations

Professional reference service is available via phone, e-mail, and in-person at both the St. Paul and Minnepolis campus libraries. While walk-in service is often available, we recommend that you make an appointment for lengthy consultations or tutorials. Contact one of the business librarians for an appointment.

Subject Specific Encyclopedias

Blackwell Guide to Business Ethics
The Blackwell Guide to Business Ethics acquaints the reader with ethical issues in the practice of business, theoretical and pedagogical issues. It provides a foundation for understanding changes to the nature of business due to technology and globalization and includes discussions of current ethical issues in areas such as marketing, accounting, and financial markets.
Blackwell Handbook of Cross-Cultural Management
This handbook provides an overview of the major research perspectives in cross-cultural management and a look at how they can be applied to real-world situations by covering topics such as human resources, motivation, leadership behavior and corporate culture.
Encyclopedia of Leadership
This encyclopedia explores leadership theories and leadership practice through articles, biographical essays, and case studies focused on leaders (and their followers). Articles and sidebars show leadership in action in corporations and state houses, schools, churches, small businesses, and nonprofit organizations.
Encyclopedia of Management, 8th ed.
Covers numerous topics in management theories and applications, such as aggregate planning, benchmarking, logistics, diversification strategy, non-traditional work arrangements, performance measurement, productivity measures, supply chain management, and much more.
International Encyclopedia Of Communication
This online encyclopedia covers many facets of communication studies including coverage of cutting edge theories, technology, interpersonal communication, intercultural and intergroup communication, business and organizational communication.
Routledge Companion to Leadership
The Routledge Companion to Leadership provides a survey of the contentious and dynamic discipline of leadership.This collection covers key themes in the field, including advances in leadership theory, leadership in a range of contexts and geographies, leadership failure, leadership process, and leadership development.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management (3rd Ed.)
A comprehensive 13 vol. business encyclopedia covering: Accounting, Business Ethics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Human Resource Management, International Management, Management Information Systems, Managerial Economics, Marketing, Operations Management, Organizational Behavior, Strategic Management, Technology and Innovation Management, plus an index. Articles arranged alphabetically within subject volumes; they contain good background information on the listed topic plus a bibliography for further reading

Business Librarians

Marianne Hageman
mdhageman@stthomas.edu
651-962-5404

Jim Kelly
kell5174@stthomas.edu
651-962-5012

Andrea Koeppe
andrea.koeppe@stthomas.edu
651-962-4647