Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index, with over 470 titles in full text out of over 2,250 titles indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, review, and essays: international in scope. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
JSTOR provides access to BACK FILES of digitized versions of complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and the social sciences. The Arts & Sciences collections represent the building blocks of an interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive
Databases, Indexes, etc.
other Church documents have not been translated. For Latin and other official
documents not available in English, please see the reference librarian
Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Commentarium Officiale (Online)
Note: the most readily accessible source for untranslated Church documents (from 1909 on) is the official Vatican serial Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Commentarium Official
L'Osservatore Romano (CD-ROM)
This CD-ROM only, annual compilation from 1997 on. In Ireland Library Reference Room at a designated computer. L'Osservatore Romano is the official Vatican newspaper, daily in Italian, weekly English published since 1968. CD-ROM contains all versions in pdf format with limited searching capability. See Microfilm for earlier years of the English weekly.
Origins: Newsletter of the US Bishops (Online)
Origins is the official newsletter and documentary service of the United States Bishops. This online version is searchable in full text. Origins began in 1976. Ireland Library continues to receive the print version of Origins which includes indexes to contents.
Periodical titles UST subcribes to or titles where articles may be accessed via the library's databases: Click on hyperlink:
Religion - General (170+)
Why use periodicals?
Periodicals are useful for three primary reasons: they...
- provide a wealth of valuable information that is current and timely
- contain the latest discussions on a topic
- cover topics not yet published in book form
Periodicals are created for different audiences. Some are for general readers and others for scholars and researchers.
Although the terms periodical, journal, serial and magazine have
slightly different definitions, you will likely hear them used
interchangeably. These are works that come out on a regular basis
(weekly, monthly, annually) and contain articles written by various
Peer Reviewed Articles
Scholarly peer review (also known as refereeing) is the process of subjecting an author's scholarly work, research, or ideas to the scrutiny of others who are experts in the same field, before a paper describing this work is published in a journal.There are anonymous and open reviews.