Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides papal encyclicals and other Catholic Church documents from 1226 to the present. Papal encyclicals and other documents may be browsed by Pope or searched by keyword. Includes the full text of papal encyclicals, apostolic letters, apostolic constitutions, apostolic exhortations, and other Papal communications
Early Church Documents Web sites
Church Documents and the News
For Church Documents and other ecclesiastical news/info
Treatise from late first century or early 2nd century
First line: "Teaching of the Lord to the Gentiles (or Nations) by the Twelve Apostles"
Oldest surviving written catechism;
•Rituals such as baptism and Eucharist
Church Fathers: Some considered it as part of the New Testament; others rejected it as non-canonical.
Misc. web sites
- Medieval Handbooks of Penance [UCSD Only]
documents translated in this book were employed in administering a
religious discipline to our forefathers during their transition from
paganism to Christianity and from barbarism to civilization."
- Monastic Matrix*
site dedicated to the study of women's religious communities from 400
to 1600CE. Includes a separate section of primary sources, which can be
browsed by title/author/community/region/century. Search function also
- Nag Hamadi Library
of 13 ancient codices containing over 50 texts discovered in upper
Egypt in 1945. The texts provide insight into early Christianity in
general and Gnosticism in particular.
- Papal Documents
Letters, speeches and other writings from Pope Leo XIII (1878) through Pope Benedict XVI (current).
- Primary Source Material in Religion and Politics
list of primary source documents on issues relating to the interaction
of religion and politics, categorized by era from ancient times to the
- Vatican Archive
texts of the Bible (New American), Catechism of the Catholic Church,
Code of Canon Law, II Vatican Council, and documents of the Jubilee
2000. Most texts are presented in multiple languages.
- Use Google to find church documents by subject/topic
Eaxmple: "church documents" abortion
Documenta Catholica Omnia
For the experienced searcher only!
Documenta Catholica Omnia
This intimidating and difficult site provides the full text of many very hard to find church documents, like a full set of council documents known as Mansi
Convocate is a new database which connects international human rights documents to Catholic Social Teaching.
Free online database from the University of Notre Dame.