Research and Course Guides: +Geography Resources: Demographics/Statistics

General Information (multiple countries)

Quality demographic information is important in doing business research. Organizations need to understand their customers and prospective customers in order to supply them with the right products and services, and to reach them via their preferred media. While international topics can be more challenging to research, there are many resources available to help you learn about consumers and their behaviors, attitudes, and opinions.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Country demographics, economic conditions, consumer lifestyle profiles, and more. Restricted to UST students, faculty, and staff. Even on campus you must log in with your UST username/password.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista contains frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by government sources, scientific publications, market researchers, non-profits, trade organizations, etc. Indicator stats are usually displayed as a chart and the underlying data is downloadable in Excel; charts can be downloaded in multiple formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations. Search results also display dossiers (topical collections of statistics), infographics, country/industry/company reports, market reports, and a global consumer survey. Results also available in French, German, and Spanish.

World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, each country's profile includes such information as demographics, political, economic, and geographic data.

Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Provides 45-65 page overviews of the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts for 100 countries. It provides 10 years of economic data, with description and analysis of the political players and situation written by experts.

International Database
The U.S. Census Bureau provides this data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world

International Financial Statistics Online This link opens in a new window
International economic and financial data, published by the International Monetary Fund.

GlobalEdge: Insights by Country
Michigan State University web portal containing a variety of statistical, governmental, and business links.
UN Data
The main statistical data search page for the United Nations. Retrieves information across disparate UN databases, from countries around the world. See the "Metadata" link to see information about data sets, and the "More" link to see an advanced search and an "Explorer" view that allows you to browse by data set, source, or topic.
World Bank Countries & Regions
Includes country profiles, statistics, and general reports.
World Development Report
World Development Indicators (the statistical portion) presents selected social, economic, and demographic data on 180 countries. This report is published by the World Bank on a different topic each year.
NationMaster
NationMaster provides a central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations by a large number of statistical measures. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
Transparency International
Measures corruption worldwide using tools such as the Corruption Perception Index, the Bribe Payers Index, and the Global Corruption Barometer.