Research and Course Guides: + Find History Resources: Getting Started

Course & Subject Specific Guides

+ Find History Resources
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 30 views this year
+ Find Primary Sources for Historical Research
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 66 views this year
HIST 111 Origins of the Modern World
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 457 views this year
HIST 112 Modern World Since 1550
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 77 views this year
HIST 113 Early America in Global Perspective
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 70 views this year
HIST 114 Modern United States in Global Perspective
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 10 views this year
HIST 115 The World Since 1900 Kurhajec
by Andrea Koeppe Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 125 views this year
HIST 117 Latin America in Global Perspective
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Apr 16, 2024 23 views this year
HIST 118 History of the Middle East and North Africa
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 7 views this year
HIST 119 East Asian Civilizations
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Feb 14, 2024 329 views this year
HIST 227 Global History of Genocide
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 25 views this year
HIST 228 Environmental History
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 13 views this year
HIST 266: Minnesota History
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Mar 12, 2024 64 views this year
Topic: Irish Genealogy Resources
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Nov 29, 2023 26 views this year
Topic: African American History
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 21 views this year
Topic: History of the American Catholic Church
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 48 views this year
Topic: Indigenous Resources
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 38 views this year
Topic: Luxembourg Genealogy Resources
by Ann Kenne Last Updated May 12, 2023 135 views this year
Topic: The Classical World
by Ann Kenne Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 18 views this year

History Resources

This guide introduces you to the History resources available in the University of St. Thomas Libraries. The background materials listed on this page will help you get started with your research. Click on the tabs above view other resources which will help you find books, journal articles and other materials.

Finding Background Information

Use these specialized topical sources to browse for paper topics and for information on specific events, places and themes:

Hutchison Chronology of World History
A chronology of world history through 2014.
Oxford Reference Online - History
An online collection of background resources on a wide variety of historical topics.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Oxford Handbooks Online - History
This source features leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Is a collection of more than 350 full text books published by Cambridge University Press. Subjects range widely across the humanities. It includes major works such as The Cambridge Ancient History, American history, British history, Economic history, General history, History of science, History of the book, Language and linguistics, Literary studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and social theory, Regional history, Religious studies, and more.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history including statistics. Topics covered include: population, work and welfare, economics, international relations and governance.

Find Biographical Information

Use these sources to find basic biographical information on historical figures:

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
American National Biography provides biographical information relating to significant men and women from all periods of United States history. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Irish Biography provides biographical information on the lives of deceased Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.

Your Librarian

Ann Kenne

(she/her)

Email Me

Contact:

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LL09
2115 Summit Avenue
Saint Paul, MN 55105-1086

(651) 962 - 5461

Subjects: History, Irish Studies

How to Find Primary Sources

Use this research guide to help you find Primary Sources on your topic.

About OSF

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Library Hours