Research and Course Guides: HIST 115 The World Since 1900 Kurhajec: Background Information

Timelines

History.com
History.com creates detailed timelines for many topics. Type your topic and timeline into the search box.
Council on Foreign Relations - Timelines
Timelines for a variety of events and topics

Historical encyclopedias

Use these specialized topical sources to browse online for paper topics and for information on specific events, places and themes:

Brill's Encyclopedia of China
NOTE: If link does not work with Chrome, try another web browser.

More...

Modern African Conflicts: an Encyclopedia of Civil Wars, Revolutions, and Terrorism by Timothy J. Stapleton (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440869709
Publication Date: 2022-06-30
Armed conflict represents a substantial part of African history since around 1960, yet this history is either insufficiently taught or overshadowed by negative stereotypes about African "tribal warfare." In an effort to introduce this vital topic to students and general readers alike, this one-volume encyclopedia provides concise historical information on conflicts that occurred in postcolonial Africa. The entries cover all the regions of Africa (North, West, Central, East, and Southern); the Cold War and post-Cold War periods; a range of important leaders; various types of conflicts from civil wars and insurgencies to conventional military engagements; involvement of foreign powers; and such themes as airpower, women and war, and genocide.

Books and book chapters

Results here are limited to books, ebooks, and book chapters.

Handbooks and companions

The following resources provide chapter-length overviews of a variety of themes. Each chapter is written by a leading expert and provides useful suggestions for further reading.

Oxford Handbooks Online - History
This source features leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Is a collection of more than 350 full text books published by Cambridge University Press. Subjects range widely across the humanities. It includes major works such as The Cambridge Ancient History, American history, British history, Economic history, General history, History of science, History of the book, Language and linguistics, Literary studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and social theory, Regional history, Religious studies, and more.

HIST 115 The World Since 1900 Kurhajec: Background Information

Background materials provide an overview of your topic

Timelines

Historical encyclopedias

More...

Books and book chapters

Handbooks and companions