Research and Course Guides: ACCT 601: Financial Accounting: Company Information

Mergent Databases

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Public company financial data, SEC filings, and industry information. Investment analyst reports available via the Investext module.
Note: Mergent will be discontinuing the Mergent Online platform in mid-2025. Its replacement, Mergent Market Atlas, is available now.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Private and public U.S. and international business data.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Company and industry data and reports.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.

Additional Company Reports

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Click the Company Profiles link at top, then search for your company to find the Marketline report.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive company information from international public companies, detailed industry reports, analyst reports, SEC filings, and market research.
Subscription does not include access to Business Contact credits (direct dial and email addresses).
Morningstar This link opens in a new window
Information on stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs, plus economic and market news and analysis.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Public company, mutual fund, and ETF data plus SEC filings, analyst research reports, industry reports, and stock screening & charting tools.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Global statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology.
eCommerceDB This link opens in a new window
Global e-commerce data about individual online stores, market segments by country, brand and trend reports, etc. for thousands of stores in 50 countries.
From the landing page, select University Access in the upper right. If you get to a page prompting payment, copy the page URL and send an explanation with content title to our Ask a Librarian service.

Articles

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
Contains company and industry articles from thousands of scholarly, trade and news publications. It also includes company profiles, financial data, and industry reports from major and smaller, niche industries perfect for marketing and business plans.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry user guide
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
For articles about a company, try searching with the company name in quotes and the Company Entity (CO) item selected under "Select a field".
Business Journals (including Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal which provides in-depth news about Minnesota companies, the local business environment, and the Annual Book of Lists. It also contains additional business journals from other cities that cover regional news from across the United States.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains current information on companies, industries, and financial markets. It also contains up-to-the-minute news articles from publications around the world and many smaller market news sources, trade magazines, and journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Dow Jones Factiva guide
If you use Factiva's Share>Within My Account feature to find links for emailing or to use in Canvas, that URL needs to be adjusted with a special code to connect it with our subscription. Copy that URL and paste it into our ProxyMe! widget to create the adjusted URL.

Conference Call Transcripts

Conference calls are substantive conversations between company's upper management and investment banking analysts covering topics including:

Earnings announcements
Significant events (e.g. auditor changes, restatement of financials, change in management)
Changes in strategic or operational direction.

These are recorded and transcribed, and made available from various sources, including company web sites. Companies don't always keep a backfile of these on their websites, so these sources can be a good alternative.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
A publication called CQ FD Disclosure provides conference call transcripts. To find it in Factiva, go to the search screen and use this search strategy: in the free text search box, type: rst=fndw and fds=company. Factiva uses proprietary company codes, so type the company name slowly and select it from the autocomplete. Note, the default is to only search the last 3 months, so if you want transcripts older than that, change the date option.
If you use Factiva's Share>Within My Account feature to find links for emailing or to use in Canvas, that URL needs to be adjusted with a special code to connect it with our subscription. Copy that URL and paste it into our ProxyMe! widget to create the adjusted URL.

Fair Disclosure Wire
This source provides conference call transcripts. Browse by date or search within publication for the company name.