Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Older Journal Articles
You will find the following print indexes useful to find articles and other materials written prior to the 1980s. The indexes are located in the Reference Room on the first floor of the O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (1930 - 1980)
OSF-Reference AI3 C286
An index to Catholic interest journals and magazine articles, reviews, newspapers and church/papal documents.
Guide to Catholic Literature (1888-1967)
OSF-Reference AI3 C28
An index to Catholic interest books and church/papal documents.
Finding Journal Articles
Use the following databases to help you locate journal articles on your topic of interest.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
This is the primary theology and religion index with information on academic journal articles, books, reviews and essays. This database includes the content from the former Catholic Periodical and Literature index (1981 - present).
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Now with over 200 full-text titles, the renowned philosophy index offers even more for undergraduates, graduate students and researchers. International in scope, The Philosopher’s Index with Full Text offers content from 139 countries. It provides full-text journals published in the United States and Britain as well as in 27 other countries.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles and book reviews on world history topics (except the United States and Canada) which occured from 1450 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly articles about Catholic authors.
Catholic News Archive This link opens in a new window
An ongoing, searchable, digital collection of 1,000s of historic North American Catholic newspapers, including “The Catholic Worker.” Provided by the Catholic Research Resources Alliance.
Databases on the Web
From the Center for Civil Rights and Human Justice at the University of Notre Dame, this database is a research tool for investigating the connections between international human rights and Catholic social teaching. It searches theological and legal documents simultaneously, returning results in such a way that users are able to compare these bodies of thought side by side.