Research and Course Guides: Leadership: Articles & Databases

Which Database To Use?

Having trouble knowing where to begin? All databases are listed on this page, but feel free to start with the databases that closely match your topic.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of education topics from early childhood to higher ed as well as educational specialties like adult education, multilingual education, and more. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Education Full Text.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo includes scholarly materials, case studies, tests, dissertations, assessments and more. Topics include general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology and also psychological aspects of related disciplines like medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple disciplines and source types from one convenient place. Connect to Google Scholar through the library’s page to get free full text of articles brought to you by UST.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2 thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer reviewed journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.

Examples of Journals in Educational Leadership

While there are many journals that specialize in peer reviewed, scholarly research in educational leadership the below journals provide a broad range of topics. Use these to explore possible research topics or to jump start an idea.

GET IT button

When searching in a database, the full text of an article is often available, but sometimes it is not. If you see the "Get It" button, the full text of the article is available, but it is in another database. Click on this button to be linked to the full-text of the article.

However, sometimes the full text is not available immediately. If UST libraries does not subscribe to the journal the article was published in, you can still get the full text. Use Interlibrary Loan to get a PDF of the article emailed to you for free.

Keywords

When searching in databases, use keywords that capture the essential ideas of your research topic. Narrowing down your topic into specific key concepts will help retrieve relevant sources. Here are some keywords tips:

A search like 'The impact of gender on people's salary' will retrieve fewer results because the database will look at all the words as separate concepts. Instead, break your topics into the key concepts: gender AND salary
Brainstorm keywords with similar meanings to concepts. For example, salary could also be wages, page, income, or earnings.
Search for all of these terms together separated by OR. For example, pay OR wages OR income OR earnings tells the database to find all of these terms in your search results.

Examples of Journals in Leadership

While there are many journals that specialize in peer reviewed, scholarly research in leadership the below journals provide a broad range of topics. Use these to explore possible research topics or to jump start an idea.