Research and Course Guides: Leadership: Getting Started

Welcome to the Leadership Research Guide

This guide outlines how to get started on your research. If you'd like more one-on-one research assistance with the graduate psychology librarian, please make an appointment by clicking the "Schedule Consultation" button.

Quick Links:

Ask A Librarian: Get research help from a librarian immediately via chat or email, plus options for phone, zoom, or in person consultations
Interlibrary Loan: Get articles and books UST libraries don't own delivered to you for free using this service. Living outside of the seven-county metropolitan area? Get books delivered to your home address.
Library Search: The best place to get started. Explore physical and digital materials like books, journals, ebooks, maps, videos and more
Google Scholar: Search for your topic in this database that covers many different fields and includes sources like articles, dissertations, court proceedings, professional conference papers, and more. Use the "Cited By" link to show materials that cited an article. Be sure to navigate to Google Scholar through the A-Z databases page or manually log in to be sure you get access to the full text of articles for free.

"It's been a long time since I've done research!"

If you've heard yourself say "It's been awhile since I've done research!" or even just thought it - you are in luck! While research can be intimidating, there is nothing to be afraid of. UST libraries is here to help.

If you're a novice researcher or a seasoned student looking for a quick refresh use the database below to explore foundational research concepts and brush up on methodologies and key researchers.

Sage Research Methods Foundations This link opens in a new window
Provides bite-size, introductory overviews to all the major methods topics. Learn how to do research more efficiently and strategically.

Research and Reading Tips

How to (Seriously) Read a Scientific Paper
Advice from master's and PhD candidates, professors, and researchers on how to read scholarly articles
Insider's Guide to Writing Your Thesis
Tips and tricks for how to write your thesis when you're short on time
Keep Track of Your Citations
Researching and writing are hard, but trying to keep track of your citations without a citation manager is even harder. Citation Managers makes citations and bibliographies easy!

I need more help: Other Campus Resources

Citation Help: Looking for help citing a paper or presentation in APA? There are many options available:

UST libraries APA Format Guide
OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue
If you have specific citation questions, the full APA manual is the most extensive source

Research Assistance: Saint Thomas librarians offer "drop in" research help at the Reference desk of most UST libraries and are also online through chat (the chat service is available 24/7). If you would like more personalized assistance, schedule an appointment with the Graduate Psychology librarian by clicking on the "schedule consultation" button.

Center For Writing: UST Center for Writing on the St. Paul campus offers in person, zoom, and written feedback appointments for graduate and undergraduate students. Looking for graduate and doctorate writing support specifically? Connect with the Graduate Writing Assistant at the downtown Minneapolis campus.

Off Campus Access

You can access databases, journals, articles, ebooks, and more from off campus! Just enter your UST log in and password when prompted and you'll be granted free access to content UST libraries subscribe to.