Research and Course Guides: +Social Work Research: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
For the Social Work Perspective
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Justice, Sociology, Social Structure
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology, Mental Health, Therapy and Treatment, Mental Health Care System
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Trauma, especially related to war
PsychiatryOnline (Including the DSM) This link opens in a new window
The DSM 5 and all the other DSMs back to the first DSM. 5 American Psychiatric Association journals included.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All fields -- most highly ranked journals
Scopus vendor guide is here: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus/home.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Health Care, Health Disparities, Mental Health, Medicine
From a librarian perspecitve, I feel this is the best thing our government does for us. Indexes everything published in relation to medicine
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education, Learning, Schools, Children, Child and Adult Development
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education, Learning, Schools, Children, Child and Adult Development
Expanded content and coverage replacing Education Full Text.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on recidivism, re-entry to the community after incarceration, police in the community, family relationships with incarcerated family members, and more
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .

Subject: Database's vocabulary (different for each database)

Keyword: Your vocabulary

LImiters: Special to each database ("Age Group" below)

Databases use a grammar of AND, OR, AND NOT. No prepositions, verbs, determiners, affixes -- anything you learned in English or human language classes

Social Work Today
Free, full text articles on a wide variety of topics. Site includes an e-newsletter, job bank and events calendar.
The New Social Worker Online Magazine
Full text feature articles and book reviews. Site includes a blog, job bank, discussion board, more.
SW&S: Social Work & Society International Online Journal
Scholarly research from international authors on topics that range from social work to public policy. One of the early open access (free) online journals.
Social Work and Society Online Magazine
European online magazine.

We don't have the book, but you can get it through InterLibrary Loan!

InterLibrary Loan form

LibKey Nomad

Searching Google, PubMed, or some other website? LibKey Nomad is a browser add-on that facilitates access to articles available from St. Thomas Library subscriptions without needing to go to the library website. It's like a shortcut to our GET IT service. And because it is a browser tool, you will know if an article is available before you have to log in to your University of St. Thomas library account. LibKey Nomad is available for Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Safari, Vivaldi, and Brave internet browsers. Get started downloading LibKey Nomad here.

Follow these steps to add Libkey Nomad as an extension to your Chrome browser:

LibKey Nomad on the Chrome Web Store

Follow these steps to add LibKey Nomad to your Edge browser:

You must then allow extensions from other stores:

Once LibKey Nomad is installed, you will be prompted to select an institution. You can type thomas in the box to get a short list quickly. Click on University of St. Thomas to complete the process.

When you land on a page with an article that is available to download, you get a banner alert at the bottom of your screen. Click to download the PDF. If you are off-campus, you will be routed through the proxy server to authenticate as an authorized user.

LibKey Nomad will connect you to our GET IT service when you land on a page where we don't have current access. In this example from Current Nutrition Reports, the Library does not have access and clicking "Access Options" will give you the option of submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.