Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

+Social Work Research: Background Info

Using the library to support your research in Social Work

Background Information

Tips for Searching in Encyclopedias and Handbooks:

  1. Choose specific encyclopedias from various areas that are related to your topic:
    1. Your topic: Use of social media by adolescents who attempt suicide
    2. Your encyclopedias: Oxford Handbook of Cyberpsychology, Encyclopedia of Adolescents, Encyclopedia of Social Work
  2. Search for broader topics, but be aware of which encyclopedia you're in. If you're in the Oxford Handbook of Cyberpsychology, you don't need to include terms for "social media."
    1. Your encyclopedia: The Oxford Handbook of Cyberpsychology.
    2. Your terms: suicide OR adolescents
    3. Article found: Adolescent and Emerging Adult Perception and Participation in Problematic and Risky Online Behavior
  3. Check the references! 
    1. Cavazos-Rehg, P. A., Krauss, M. J., Sowles, S. J., Connolly, S., Rosas, C., Bharadwaj, M., & … Bierut, L. J. (2017). An analysis of depression, self-harm, and suicidal ideation content on Tumblr. Crisis: The Journal of Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention 38(1), 44–52.

​​

​​

Oxford Handbooks Online

 

Some of the handbooks at Oxford:

Annual Reviews