Lawyers who practice in the public interest face a range of choices about which issues are most salient and what measures are best adapted to accomplishing desired goals. In policy development, we first identify and investigate real life problems through data-driven and reality-based research (which involves examining scientific or statistical data as well as interaction with stakeholders and people affected by the problem). Then, we explore options for addressing the problem. Finally, we conceptualize and draft concrete proposals for reform.
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy
The Oxford Handbook of Public Policy by 
Encyclopedia of Policy Studies by In-depth articles on controversial topics such in areas like politics, government, business, education, and popular culture. Includes supporting resources like timelines, statistics, and pros/cons statements.
A full-text database providing essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Each topic covered has an overview article that gives a summary of the issue, as well as a robust set of supporting documents that includes viewpoint essays, op-eds, newspaper articles, radio & TV news transcripts, and primary source documents.
This database contains current, in-depth reporting on health care, criminal justice, political and social trends, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
The eight-step path of policy analysis : a handbook for practice by 
An Operational Approach to Policy Analysis - The Craft by 
