Skip to Main Content

Public Safety Leadership: News Sources

Resources in the library to support your research in public safety leadership

Links to News Sites

Internet Public Library Newspapers
Newspapers and magazines of the world, by country. Browse by country or title, or search the collection.
Newslink
Links to over 8000 newspapers, magazines, broadcasts in the U.S. and around the world. Includes major metropolitan newspapers, daily newspapers, television stations by state and network affiliation.
Minnesota College & University Newspapers
From the Minnesota Newspapers Directory.
Onlinenewspapers.com
"Thousands of world newspapers at your fingertips."
Slate.com's Today's Papers
A summary of what's in major U.S. newspapers.
50States.com Newspapers
Links to over 3000 U.S. newspapers.

Major Broadcast Media

National News Databases

ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains current information on companies, industries, and financial markets. It also contains up-to-the-minute news articles from publications around the world and many smaller market news sources, trade magazines, and journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Dow Jones Factiva guide
If you use Factiva's Share>Within My Account feature to find links for emailing or to use in Canvas, that URL needs to be adjusted with a special code to connect it with our subscription. Copy that URL and paste it into our ProxyMe! widget to create the adjusted URL.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .

Historical News Sources

New York Times (historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of The New York Times from 1851 to 2020 including articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Pittsburgh Courier (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database provides you with access to the complete content of the African-American newspaper, the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
Washington Post (historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of Washington Post from 1877 to 2008 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Chicago Defender (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database provides you with access to the complete content the African-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Combined search of historical newspapers including: New York Times, Washington Post, Irish Times, The Guardian and Observer, Chicago Defender and Pittsburgh Courier.

National Newspapers

News Magazines