Research and Course Guides: Econ 252 Microeconomics Resources: Research Organizations and Statistical Sources

Policy Research Organizations

There are many thousands of organizations in the U.S. (and internationally) that provide research on public policy issues. Types include:

Government agencies (executive and legislative branches)
Nonprofit research organizations
Advocacy groups
Trade associations

There is often good information available in reports they produce. Your challenge is to think critically about these sources, identify potential biases, use them to identify additional research, and generally separate the wheat from the chaff.

Search Think Tank Websites

Harvard Think Tank Search
A Google Custom Search of over 400 "think tank" websites, hosted by the Harvard Kennedy School Library. For the purposes of this search, think tanks are defined as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.

A Sample of National Research Organizations

The Brookings Institution
Brookings is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Their mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and to provide innovative, practical recommendations that: strengthen American democracy; foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans; and secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system.
Urban Institute
For non-partisan data, research, program evaluation on social and economic issues relating to American cities.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan "think tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling and social science research; by analyzing news coverage; and by holding forums and briefings. It does not take positions on policy issues.
Tax Policy Center
The Tax Policy Center provides timely, accessible analysis and facts about tax policy to policymakers, journalists, citizens, and researchers. The TPC is a joint venture of the Urban Institute and Brookings Institution.
National Conference of State Legislatures: Research
The NCSL is a non-partisan organization representing the state legislatures in the U.S. It provides policy and legislative research on issues in the states.

U. S. Government-related Research

Congressional Publications Search (from ProQuest)
Includes bills, legislative history, and most importantly here, access to Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports from 1916-present. Use the checkboxes in the search form to limit sources.
Congressional Budget Office
Provides "objective, nonpartisan, and timely analyses to aid in economic and budgetary decisions on the wide array of programs covered by the federal budget."
Government Accountability Office
The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars, and issues reports.
USA.gov
This is the official portal page to all federal government resources available on the Web. Search by topic, or find a relevant federal agency and search on their site. Most major agencies will have extensive research or publications sections on their sites.

Statistics Sources

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
FRED is a database economic time series data maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Covers banking, business, consumer prices, employment, population, exchange rates, gross domestic product (GDP), interest rates, money supply, producer price indexes (PPI), U.S. trade and international transactions, and U.S. financial data. C
ollected from federal economic agencies.
Bureau of Labor Statistics home page
Use the Subject Areas section menu at the top to navigate data sources on inflation and prices, consumer spending, employment and unemployment, pay and benefits, productivity, etc.
UST Libraries Datasets & Statistics Guide
Our comprehensive guide to finding datasets and statistical sources.

Minnesota Sources

Minnesota Legislative Reference Library
The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (LRL) information resources that support the legislative process and promote the understanding of state government. See the "Guides" section for a listing of current Minnesota policy issues reports.
House Research Office
Provides nonpartisan, neutral research and legal services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. Site includes summaries of legislation and publications on topical policy issues.
MN Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis
A nonpartisan organization that provides legal, research and fiscal analysis services to the Senate.
Minnesota State Demographic Center
The main provider of demographic data and analysis for the state of Minnesota.