Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Policy Project Guide
This is a guide for the Final Policy Project for Econ 252, Principles of Microeconomics, Prof. Matthew Kim. It provides links to good sources on public policy issues.
Use the tabs at the top to navigate to the different sections of the guide.
Image source: "Government-Vedder-Highsmith-detail-1" by Artist is Elihu Vedder (1836–1923). Photographed 2007 by Carol Highsmith (1946–). - Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division. Licensed under Public domain via Wikimedia Commons.
Related UST Research Guides
Finding An Issue to Write About
These are great sources to search or browse to find public policy issues. Don't just paraphrase these sources to write your paper. Instead, use the articles here to get some background on the topic as a springboard to more in-depth research.
Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies explore more than 800 timely, in-depth, and objective articles on topics such as politics, government, business, education, and popular culture. It is updated weekly and provides links to a 13-year backfile. Also included are links to news coverage, pros and cons statements, timelines, statistics, etc.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
A one-stop source for information on a variety of social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, as well as full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Political scientists, journalists & economics researchers are going to find original information on health care, criminal justice, political and social trends, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each report includes an overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
CQ Electronic Library
This resource allows the political science, journalism and economics researcher to search all CQ resources at once. Includes CQ Researcher + Archive, CQ Weekly, CQ Almanac, and Political Handbook of the World.
Palgrave's Dictionary of Economics Online
Need help choosing research topics?
Dying to calculate the price elasticity of demand?
Can't remember what heteroscedasticity means?
It's all here...
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
Palgraves is the premier subject encyclopedia for the field. You will find it useful for getting definitive explanations of economic concepts, browsing for research paper topic selection, and locating additional sources for further reading from the article bibliographies. Covers all aspects of the field, including micro and macroeconomics, economic history, econometrics, international, urban, financial, monetary, public, and theoretical economics.
Library Session Evaluation