Research and Course Guides: Business Resources for Compliance: Industry Research

eStatement Studies

In eStatement Studies you'll find Financial Ratio Benchmark (FRB) figures, broken down by US Region and revenue quartile, for a very large number of industries.

Look here for smaller and specialized industries, like Adhesive Manufacturing or Automobile Driving Schools.

RMA Statement Studies This link opens in a new window
The Risk Management Association's (RMA) Statement Studies provides financial ratio benchmarks, industry default probabilities, and cash flow measures. The industry information in this database is organized by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code.

Industry Analysis

IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld Industry Market Research Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for 700+ U.S. industries and hundreds of international industries. Searchable by keyword, company name, and NAICS codes. Reports average 25-30 pages and contain key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors, key factors, and industry outlook. UST’s subscription also includes industry-level coverage of U.S. states, Canada, China, and Global reports. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for company and industry research, including financial and ratio analysis. Contains the former Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys and Stock Reports (now produced by CFRA Equity Research). Also includes mutual fund/ETF and bond information, investment research reports, stock screening and charting tools.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2 thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer reviewed journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor’s Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry contains business and in depth company and industry articles from over 2,000 scholarly, trade and news publications. It also includes reports from major and smaller, niche industries that contain information for entrepreneurs and financial data perfect for marketing and business plans. Users can set up alerts, establish RSS feeds, and share articles. Users who establish a free account can save and organize research and tag articles which can be shared with other users.

Industry Norms & Ratios

Use these resources to find ratios for US industries. Find more direction on using these databases in the other boxes on this page.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online is our “go-to” database for in-depth information on publicly traded companies. This resource is useful for financial statement analysis projects: it includes all financial statements, SEC filings, ratios, industry benchmarks, etc., as well as investment analyst reports via the Investext module.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for company and industry research, including financial and ratio analysis. Contains the former Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys and Stock Reports (now produced by CFRA Equity Research). Also includes mutual fund/ETF and bond information, investment research reports, stock screening and charting tools.