Research and Course Guides: MGMT 625, 635 & 645: Strategic Management: Industry Overviews

Screencasts & tutorials

Passport GMID: Industry Reports & Consumer Lifestyles
How to search Passport GMID for international industry reports and consumer lifestyle information.

Business Librarians

Marianne Hageman (St. Paul)
mdhageman@stthomas.edu
651-962-5404

John Heintz (Mpls. & St. Paul)
jpheintz@stthomas.edu
651-962-4646

Andrea Koeppe (Mpls.)
andrea.koeppe@stthomas.edu
651-962-4647

Research consultations

Professional reference service is available via phone, e-mail, and in-person at both the St. Paul and Minnepolis campus libraries. While walk-in service is often available, we recommend that you make an appointment for lengthy consultations or tutorials. Contact one of the business librarians for an appointment.

Industry Overviews & Surveys

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry contains business and in depth company and industry articles from over 2,000 scholarly, trade and news publications. It also includes reports from major and smaller, niche industries that contain information for entrepreneurs and financial data perfect for marketing and business plans. Users can set up alerts, establish RSS feeds, and share articles. Users who establish a free account can save and organize research and tag articles which can be shared with other users.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2 thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer reviewed journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Gartner is an independent consulting company that provides research and analysis about global technology issues and their impact on organizations. Written by specialists in many fields of emerging technologies, the data from Gartner includes market research, product information, evaluations, vendor reviews and industry overviews. Not all reports are available in full text. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
Limited to current UST students, faculty and staff only. Walk-ins not permitted.

Manufacturing & Distribution USA
Guide to economic activity in over 450 manufacturing industries.

RMA Statement Studies This link opens in a new window
The Risk Management Association's (RMA) Statement Studies provides financial ratio benchmarks, industry default probabilities, and cash flow measures. The industry information in this database is organized by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers provides company information from about 18 million global companies, detailed industry reports, analyst reports, SEC filings, and market research.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor’s Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for company and industry research, including financial and ratio analysis. Contains the former Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys and Stock Reports (now produced by CFRA Equity Research). Also includes mutual fund/ETF and bond information, investment research reports, stock screening and charting tools.

Additional Sources for Industry Overviews

Country Commercial Guides
Written by U.S. Embassy trade experts worldwide, these are an excellent starting point for everything you need to know about exporting and doing business overseas. From Export.gov.
Export.gov Market Research
Market information from the U.S. government's Export.gov, including links to the Country Commercial Guides.
Yahoo Finance Industry Center
Industry profiles and financial data for over 100 industries.
Manufacturing and Services Industry Summaries
Coverage of key industrial and service sectors.
globalEDGE Industry Profiles
Information, news, events, and statistical data for various industries.
Euromonitor Podcasts
Global market research podcasts covering the latest trends in industries, countries, and consumers worldwide.

MGMT 625, 635 & 645: Strategic Management: Industry Overviews

IBISWorld Industry Market Research

Screencasts & tutorials

Business Librarians

Research consultations

Industry Overviews & Surveys

Additional Sources for Industry Overviews