Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these resources when you look for background information about a country. Remember that relevant country information is not just state or economic data, but it can also includes demographic, cultural and historical information. All of these factors can come into play when deciding if a country is receptive to a foreign country or a new product.
Recommended Databases for Country Overviews
Use these resources when you look for background information about a country. Remember that relevant country information is not just government and economic data, but also includes demographic information, culture, and history. All of these factors come into play when decided whether or not a country will be receptive to a foreign company or a new product.
Political Risk Yearbook
Provides 45-65 page overviews of the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts for 100 countries. It provides 10 years of economic data, with description and analysis of the political players and situation written by experts.
Statista is a statistics portal for frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by government sources, scientific publications, market researchers, non-profits, trade organizations, etc. For country reports, choose Reports -> Country Reports from the upper left hand corner. It contains both demographic and economic data.
Euromonitor’s Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Restricted to current UST students, faculty, and staff only. Even on campus you must log in with your UST username/password.
Quality websites for country overviews
CIA World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, each country's profile includes such information as demographics, political, economic, and geographic data.
Contains detailed statistical data and country comparisons and rankings from the Michigan State University.