Research and Course Guides: Digital Humanities Resources: Digital Collections and Digital Storytelling; Games

Creating Digital Collections

Shakespeare window This page shares information on using digital collections tools in the classroom. Much of the content on this page is adapted from Dr. Annie Swafford's (SUNY-New Paltz) presentation at a workshop: Fostering the Digital Humanities at St. Thomas, June 2015.

(Image credit: Conrad Pickel Stained Glass Collection, UST Libraries,
http://bit.ly/USTpickel)

Selected Sources for Digital Images

Here is just a small handful of potential sources. Consult each source's usage guidelines, within the context of fair use rights. Use appropriate citations and attributions.

UST Libraries' Digital Collections
Items from the Libraries' Special Collections & Archives.
Visual Arts at St. Thomas
The Art History department's online collections.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
> 1 million images, covering many time periods, cultures, and disciplines. Search, view, embed, download images.

MN Historical Society Collections Online
Find photos, maps, etc.
more...less...
See also the full scope of the collections at: http://www.mnhs.org/research.
Minneapolis Institute of Arts (Mia) Images
Browse the collections.
more...less...
Image use and access guidelines: http://new.artsmia.org/contact-us/#image_use_and_access
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Photos, maps, documents, audio, video.
Library of Congress Flickr Photostream
Just the photos.
Metropolitan Museum Image Resources
Most of the Met's online collection images are now open access.
more...less...
See their terms and conditions: http://www.metmuseum.org/about-the-met/policies-and-documents/image-resources
British Library Flickr Photostream
Over a million images.
Wikimedia Commons
Public domain, Creative Commons, other.
Google Art Project
Explore museums all over the world.
more...less...
Links to the museum that owns the image; consult that museum's terms of use.

Digital Storytelling

Digital Storytelling
Website for a course for faculty (open to all) on this topic from the University of Minnesota
The Changing Story: digital stories that participate in transforming teaching & learning by Buturian, Linda.
Free, downloadable ebook providing assignments, resources, and examples to use in teaching and learning. It will also help you think of ways digital stories can be used in teaching, and help students harness the power of visual storytelling.

Omeka

Omeka is an open-source digital collections tool. There is a locally hosted version (Omeka.org) and an open web version (Omeka.net).

Omeka.org
The downloadable, locally-hosted version, requires a web server.
Omeka.org Showcase
Sample projects.
Omeka.net
The open web version, with free and subscription versions.
Omeka.net Showcase
Sample projects.
Use Case: Educators
How and why.
Use Case: Students
How and why.

Film or video project tools

PopcornMaker
Mozilla Popcorn Maker allows you to enrich a video with interactive maps, images, and webpages. Your video could be different every time it’s played, because it pulls in dynamic content and allows your “viewer” to interact with it. Here, we learn how to use it to enhance an archival video.
Mozilla PopCornMaker Tutorial
Screencast-O-Matic
One-click screen capture recording on Windows or Mac computers with no install for free.

Video/podcast tools

Audiotool
Audiotool is a powerful online music production studio right in your browser.
Audiotool Tutorials
Sample student project (iMovie)
GarageBand
Make your own podcasts...

Immigration Syllabus

Immigration Syllabus
#ImmigrationSyllabus provides multi-media links and readings on the history of immigration in the United States. Created by a multidisciplinary team of scholars from across the country.

Immigrant Stories

Immigrant Stories
Immigrant Stories helps recent immigrants and refugees create digital stories: brief videos with images, text, and audio about a personal experience. The IHRC shares and preserves these digital stories for future generations through the IHRC Archives, the Minnesota Digital Library, and the Digital Public Library of America. Site includes curriculum and instructional materials

Omeka Usage Tips

Adding Content:

How to Add an Item
Managing items.
How to Change an Item
Managing item types.
How to Add Metadata
Describing items.

Grouping the Items:

How to Build a Collection
Managing collections.
How to Build an Exhibit
Using the Exhibit Builder.

Other:

Omeka.org Documentation page
More documentation.
Omeka.net Documentation page.
More documentation.
Sample Completed Omeka Project
19th Century Disability: Cultures and Contexts
Sample Omeka Classroom Assignment
From a digital humanities class.

Uploading Items from a Spreadsheet
Building and populating a collection via bulk upload of content and metadata.

Games as DH

Online Game-based Learning
"The Games Art Historians Play: Online Game-based Learning in Art History and Museum Contexts," Chronicle of Higher Education, Nov. 3, 2015. Article describes and links to many game-based DH projects used in teaching.

Video Game Resources

Computer Video Game Archive
Resources related to the Computer & Video Game Archive at the University of Michigan; includes info on projects and studies involving video games
Internet Archive Software Library
Emulator and downloadable software from various platforms.

Undertold Stories Project

Undertold Stories Project
The Under-Told Stories Project works to expand, sustain and improve coverage of the world outside America in broadcast, print and emerging new media outlets. We produce high-quality, multimedia reporting for public and commercial news outlets and engage students from the University of St. Thomas in courses, internships and mentoring opportunities providing a forum for the critical reflection on the world’s under-reported news stories, and hands-on skills in media production.