Research and Course Guides: Neuroscience 203: Examples of Annotations

Helpful Guides on Annotated Bibliographies

How to Write an Annotated Bibliography (Simon Fraser University)
A couple of examples in MLA and APA
Write an Annotated Bibliography
Very nice description of the purpose and thought process of writing an annotated bibliography.

Compares annotated bibliographies with literature reviews.
(UC Santa Cruz University Library)

From Purdue OWL
Excellent annotation examples using MLA, APA, and Chicago citation styles
Scientific Misconduct: An Annotated Bibliography
Descriptive annotated bibliography with carefully selected sources
(Society for the Teaching of Psychology)

21 Genres and How to Write Them (Annotated Bibliographies chapter)
Publication Date: 2013
Link leads to a short chapter (9 pages) with examples and instructions on how to create an annotated bibliography
Arts and Culture for Older People in Singapore: An Annotated Bibliography
Publication Date: 2018
Annotations of everyone's favorite topic!
Linguistics: A Guide to the Reference Literature (2nd ed.)
Publication Date: 2000
A bit dated but a great example of critical annotations: the audience, special features, where the book or resource fits within the context of linguistics and differences between publications. The link shows an excellent chapter.

Notice the various types of information and evaluation provided.

Example from: DeMiller, A. L. (2000). Linguistics: A guide to the reference literature. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited.